We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stewart and Mike G The best way to finish the Dalesway walk, ever!”
Review of Lakeland Hills

Lakeland Hills
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeland Hills
Ranked #13 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Tired, wet, muddy arriving at The Lakeland Hills to be met by a warm smile by Tony and Caroline, ushered in for a most welcoming mug(s) of tea and cake. Nothing was too much trouble with 5* rating for the en-suite accomodation. After a shower Tony drove us to an excellent local pub for an excellent meal and a couple of pints of the local brew before we were picked up and driven back for a great nights sleep. As for the breakfast the next morning before setting off, incredible! The whole trip was worth it just for this last night. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were two couples walking the Dales Way.
Tony and Caroline had everything we needed - tea and cake on arrival, beautiful, comfortable and private en suite rooms, lots of information and a lift to a good pub for our evening meal. The breakfast was also excellent with locally sourced food and fruit from their own garden.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed on 28th August & were as pleased with the accomodation & hosts as all the other reviewers were!
Tony & Caroline were perfect hosts & they couldn't have been more welcoming. When we arrived, Tony had put us some tea & cake out & he was very chatty & knowledgeable.
Rooms were very spacious & clean & very comfy double bed upstairs! Tuck shop in the rooms is a good idea too.
Tony drove us to the pub for our tea & picked us up again. Gateway Inn had very tasty food, generous portions!
Had Tonys' American pancake for my breakfast & it was delicious! Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

After our longest walk on the Dalesway, we arrived dishevelled, tired and hungry, but for our hosts Tony and Caroline nothing was too much trouble, the room was clean and comfortable and Tony drove us to the local pub for our meal, breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. The only problem we had was actually leaving in the morning as Tony and Caroline are such interesting people who have a passion for walking we could have chatted for hours, if you are doing the Dalesway book this place early, it's a must

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Tony and Caroline are such interesting friendly people. They go out of their way to make everything just right for walkers. We did the Dalesway and only spent one night at Lakeland Hills..Our ground floor room was spacious, comfortable, stylish, clean with great shower and fluffy white sheets.They have a beautiful garden. There is a tuck shop at cost price with Compeed, beer, snacks etc. Other b & bs take note. It is a really useful idea. Tony took us and brought us back after our meal at a local pub. Tony's American pancake and fruit breakfast is delicious and a change from bacon and egg. We could have stayed talking longer but had to get off on the last leg of our walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

This place delivers on every promise!we arrived weary after our longest day on the dales way walk. We had a very nice ground floor room, all fresh, clean and very comfy. Tony and Caroline are in a league of their own- serving homemade cake on arrival, going out to get us a takeaway, providing beer and wine at only £2. it was so welcoming, like staying with family. They served a lovely breakfast- fab american pancakes if you do not fancy a fry up. And just when you think it cannot get any better.... A tuck shop in your wardrobe. Highly recommended, particularly for dales walkers.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariek911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed here for a night when walking the Dales Way. Lovely welcome from Tony who showed us our rooms then gave us tea & coffee with homemade fruit loaf - delicious. The rooms (one single & one twin) were perfect with everything you could possibly need. The tuck shop was a brilliant idea with drinks (incl beer & wine), snacks, chocs, compeed, tissues, paracetamol etc for sale at cost price. The rooms also had good complimentary hospitality trays. Spotlessly clean throughout. Lift to the pub & back was included in the price. The hosts are very friendly and interesting, with plenty of advice & suggestions. You must try the American pancakes for breakfast - they are amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittlePatsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.4 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Millers Beck
Millers Beck
#7 of 42 in Kendal
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Underbarrow
47 reviews
2.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland Hills

Address: 1 Churchill Court | Burneside, Kendal LA9 6QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Also Known As:
Lakeland Hills Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing