We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lakeland Hills
Nearby Hotels
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
55
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuck shoptea and cakelocal pubfruit loafwonderful hostspacked lunchon arrivalwet clotheslovely homeroom was spaciousplace to stayevening mealcarolinewalkersburnsideaccommodationsstopover
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Tired, wet, muddy arriving at The Lakeland Hills to be met by a warm smile by Tony and Caroline, ushered in for a most welcoming mug(s) of tea and cake. Nothing was too much trouble with 5* rating for the en-suite accomodation. After a shower Tony drove us to an excellent local pub for an excellent meal and a couple of pints of the local brew before we were picked up and driven back for a great nights sleep. As for the breakfast the next morning before setting off, incredible! The whole trip was worth it just for this last night. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were two couples walking the Dales Way.
Tony and Caroline had everything we needed - tea and cake on arrival, beautiful, comfortable and private en suite rooms, lots of information and a lift to a good pub for our evening meal. The breakfast was also excellent with locally sourced food and fruit from their own garden.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed on 28th August & were as pleased with the accomodation & hosts as all the other reviewers were!
Tony & Caroline were perfect hosts & they couldn't have been more welcoming. When we arrived, Tony had put us some tea & cake out & he was very chatty & knowledgeable.
Rooms were very spacious & clean & very comfy double bed upstairs! Tuck shop in the rooms is a good idea too.
Tony drove us to the pub for our tea & picked us up again. Gateway Inn had very tasty food, generous portions!
Had Tonys' American pancake for my breakfast & it was delicious! Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

After our longest walk on the Dalesway, we arrived dishevelled, tired and hungry, but for our hosts Tony and Caroline nothing was too much trouble, the room was clean and comfortable and Tony drove us to the local pub for our meal, breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. The only problem we had was actually leaving in the morning as Tony and Caroline are such interesting people who have a passion for walking we could have chatted for hours, if you are doing the Dalesway book this place early, it's a must

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Tony and Caroline are such interesting friendly people. They go out of their way to make everything just right for walkers. We did the Dalesway and only spent one night at Lakeland Hills..Our ground floor room was spacious, comfortable, stylish, clean with great shower and fluffy white sheets.They have a beautiful garden. There is a tuck shop at cost price with Compeed, beer, snacks etc. Other b & bs take note. It is a really useful idea. Tony took us and brought us back after our meal at a local pub. Tony's American pancake and fruit breakfast is delicious and a change from bacon and egg. We could have stayed talking longer but had to get off on the last leg of our walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews