We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B we've been to. ”
Review of Lakeland Hills

Lakeland Hills
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeland Hills
Ranked #15 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best B&B we've been to. ”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

1st class b@b. Can't fault anything at all. Spotlessly clean throughout. Comfy beds. Warmest welcome. Lovely quiet location close to many walks and only a few yards from The Dales Way. Breakfast and packed lunches very good quality and are generous. Will definitely return here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A must stay over on this section of the dalesway.Were greeted by Tony with tea or coffee and fruit loaf in the conservatory overlooking the garden.. and then shown to a lovely spotless double bedroom with full bathroom.
Tea ,coffee making facilities in the room.
Tony and Caroline go the extra mile by providing a tuck shop in the room with nice extras like wine, beer ,crisps plasters etc.
and transport to the gateway inn where the food was excellent.
You can choose from a large option for breakfast from full english to pancakes with fruit. plus the choice of cereals and fruit juice..
Packed lunches can be provided which were great.
Tony eplained the route from Burneside to Bowness and suggested walking along the river past the converted mill, a lovely stretch of river and glad we hadnt missed this .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sainswor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Tired, wet, muddy arriving at The Lakeland Hills to be met by a warm smile by Tony and Caroline, ushered in for a most welcoming mug(s) of tea and cake. Nothing was too much trouble with 5* rating for the en-suite accomodation. After a shower Tony drove us to an excellent local pub for an excellent meal and a couple of pints of the local brew before we were picked up and driven back for a great nights sleep. As for the breakfast the next morning before setting off, incredible! The whole trip was worth it just for this last night. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were two couples walking the Dales Way.
Tony and Caroline had everything we needed - tea and cake on arrival, beautiful, comfortable and private en suite rooms, lots of information and a lift to a good pub for our evening meal. The breakfast was also excellent with locally sourced food and fruit from their own garden.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed on 28th August & were as pleased with the accomodation & hosts as all the other reviewers were!
Tony & Caroline were perfect hosts & they couldn't have been more welcoming. When we arrived, Tony had put us some tea & cake out & he was very chatty & knowledgeable.
Rooms were very spacious & clean & very comfy double bed upstairs! Tuck shop in the rooms is a good idea too.
Tony drove us to the pub for our tea & picked us up again. Gateway Inn had very tasty food, generous portions!
Had Tonys' American pancake for my breakfast & it was delicious! Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

After our longest walk on the Dalesway, we arrived dishevelled, tired and hungry, but for our hosts Tony and Caroline nothing was too much trouble, the room was clean and comfortable and Tony drove us to the local pub for our meal, breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. The only problem we had was actually leaving in the morning as Tony and Caroline are such interesting people who have a passion for walking we could have chatted for hours, if you are doing the Dalesway book this place early, it's a must

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Tony and Caroline are such interesting friendly people. They go out of their way to make everything just right for walkers. We did the Dalesway and only spent one night at Lakeland Hills..Our ground floor room was spacious, comfortable, stylish, clean with great shower and fluffy white sheets.They have a beautiful garden. There is a tuck shop at cost price with Compeed, beer, snacks etc. Other b & bs take note. It is a really useful idea. Tony took us and brought us back after our meal at a local pub. Tony's American pancake and fruit breakfast is delicious and a change from bacon and egg. We could have stayed talking longer but had to get off on the last leg of our walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sonata Guest House
Sonata Guest House
#3 of 42 in Kendal
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
268 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#12 of 42 in Kendal
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland Hills

Property: Lakeland Hills
Address: 1 Churchill Court | Burneside, Kendal LA9 6QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Also Known As:
Lakeland Hills Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing