We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Lakeland Hills

Lakeland Hills
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeland Hills
Ranked #9 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed at this amazing B&B last month when my partner and I were walking the Dales Way. The hosts, Tony and Caroline are very welcoming. As soon as we arrived we were offered coffee and homemade cake. Nothing was too much trouble; we had brought our tea with us which Tony set out for us. The room and bed were very comfortable and the bathroom spacious with generous toiletries to hand. The ambience is relaxed, homely and very friendly. Tony is very knowledgeable about the local area. He is very interesting to talk to, having travelled extensively.
The breakfast was superb, we had the pancakes which were delicious.
We would thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone walking the Dales Way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My partner and I arrived here on a wet day whilst doing The Dales Way in June. We were drenched. Tony and Caroline were amazing! We received such a warm welcome, they took our wet clothes to be dried and invited us down for tea and cake once we were ready. Our room was perfect with a lovely large bathroom. In the evening Tony took us to a local pub for dinner and collected us again later on. They gave us some useful information about the rest of our walk and were just such interesting people to talk to as they love travelling and have been to so many places. We strongly recommend staying here whether you are walking or just visiting the area, it is absolutely lovely. Oh yes, and the breakfast...full english or American pancakes...difficult choice so we had one each and shared them!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We cannot really add anything more to the previous reviews other than say YES YES YES - we agree - if you stay in Burneside you have to stay here - it is very conveniently situated off the Dales Way (not a lot extra for the tired feet - it makes for a relaxing final day's walk to Bowness). Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhiannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This B and B is every bit as lovely as the other reviews say it is. We are not walkers but were up in the Lakes for a friends birthday. We were made very welcome, tea and cake on arrival and a delicious breakfast. Our 8 year old daughter was also made very welcome and we are now going to have to buy a ukelele!! It's a short walk from Burneside railway station, and I would have no hesitation in visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debrawendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Excellent bed and breakfast offered by the most perfect hosts, even before we arrived Caroline & Tony were very helpful and gave us some great tips for walking the Dalesway. The walk from Sedbergh was harder than we expected so to be greeted by such a lovely couple who can't do enough for you it was wonderful, I'd read about the pot of tea with a slice of tea loaf on arrival and that did not disappoint, just what we needed. Tony & Caroline are more than happy to run you to the local pub or for you to have takeaway, we opted for chinese and they served this to us like we were in a restaurant, they really are the best hosts! We spent the evening talking about the places and travels they had been on and they really are the most interesting people, feel like walking the Dalesway again just so we can stay over! If you want somewhere to stay in Burneside look no further, this place is hard to beat..........nearly forgot breakfast that was amazing too and the packed lunch!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Tony and Caroline are walkers and everything you need is taken care of.
Four of us arrived after a longer than expected walk from Sedbergh. There's a bench outside which is great when you are tired and are taking walking boots off at the end of a tiring day! We were offered tea and a great cake as soon as we arrived too. Tony booked us a table at a local pub - a great place for Wainwright beers and excellent fish and chips. He collected us afterwards too.
There's a tuck shop in your room - what a superb idea!
Breakfast was excellent and we can recommend the pancakes.
He gave us some good advice too about the choice of paths for our last section of the Dales Way.
If you are walking the Dales Way, you really must stay here on your last night! You will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BertandJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeadon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

What can you say, as soon as you walk through the front door, you are taken care of by Tony & Caroline. nothing is too much trouble for them, as our cases had not arrived when we got there we had a drink and cake, then relaxed for a short while. We had a bath in our en suite which was most welcome. Tony said he would drive us to a local pub, but as I was not feeling to well, Tony sorted out a takeaway for my other half. we sat in the conservatory overlooking the garden as he ate it. Our beds were so comfy we slept like babies. Breakfast was ordered the night before, I think I went a little overboard and was very ambitious to think I could eat Tony lovely porridge and 1 of his most spectacular pancakes with loads of fruit. anyhow I did eat the porridge and some of the pancake. Tony advised us to stop and look at Staveley Mills, it is a lovely little place. We stopped for a Latte at Wilfs cafe. I would recommend anyone to stop at Lakeland Hills for a fantastic experience. Thanks Tony & Caroline

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,032 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
278 reviews
1.4 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Sonata Guest House
Sonata Guest House
#3 of 42 in Kendal
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland Hills

Property: Lakeland Hills
Address: 1 Churchill Court | Burneside, Kendal LA9 6QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Also Known As:
Lakeland Hills Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing