We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party of 10 and 2 dogs on bank holiday Sunday- no problem”
Review of The Station Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Station Inn
Ranked #99 of 148 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
kendal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Party of 10 and 2 dogs on bank holiday Sunday- no problem”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We do eat infrequently at the Station inn and have done for years but never for such a large group and on bank holiday. would advise to book, but as they have both inside, in the bar - (dog friendly) and restaurant as well as plenty of tables outside near the childrens play area you are always made welcome. As they cook to order you will have a wait but its good food and worth the wait. We ordered 8 different meals, a prawn cocktail as a main meal (small appetite), 2 burgers (1 with extras), 3 steak and ale(blond witch) pie, scampi, chilli, pasta and finally a childs meal. With drinks it came to just over £100 so not bad as we were all very fully fed. The staff are nice and helpful. Afterwards the children had a play on the bouncy castle, play ground and there are alpacas to look at. If you want to spend a couple of pounds you can have a go on the crazy golf which entertained the children for a while. Not the cheapest place but with good parking, nice views and good food an good place to eat out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimib55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    11
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“fantastic outdoor area for kids, lovely food”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

worth a visit for the outdoor kids area alone! My three loved it. Food was lovely. The bouncy castle was well loved also

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liamomurchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lancashire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Meeting Place”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

There were ten of us from Cumbria and North Lancashire who met to discuss the state of the world and how to put it right. This is a grand location for such a meeting as Oxenholme is a mini-junction on the West Coast Main-line, so people could travel from Carlisle, North Lancashire and Windermere and leave the car at home.

I enjoyed the duck leg, which I followed with an Eton Mess, which if I had been served it blind I would have called a Knickerbocker Glory. Both courses were excellent, as was the Black Sheep which was well kept and washed the food down as well as being good ale on its own merits.

I am looking forward to our next meeting in this hostelry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MerlinsonofOdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“plastic glasses and bad beer not good”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

went here last week with the family 2 pints of beer and 4 lemonades 14 gbp ! would not mind but had a pint of stella and it was awfull served in a scratched plastic glass and was flat as a pancake i would off taken it back but could not be fussed with the hassle ! will not get any more of my moey its not the first time this has happend here

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryanc232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“not good”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Frozen food heated up and served i have no more to say about the food,how ever the staff were lovely and the welcome warm beer very good what a shame!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superbocklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Station Inn also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing