We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Taste and Gluten Free Menu!!”
Review of Cottage Kitchen

Cottage Kitchen
Ranked #30 of 148 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Traditional cafe
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Value, Great Taste and Gluten Free Menu!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

A lovely cafe, slap bang in the centre of Kendal with friendly staff. The whole of the main menu is gluten free which is a marvel and as a gluten eater I was not disappointed by the flavour.

My wife and I had pies and a pot of tea for lunch including chips for me and it was only £11!!

A definite recommendation!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    17
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High recommended”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Great food reasonably priced very friendly staff nice to sit outside on a sunny day and watch the world go by They will bring a water bowl for your dog!

Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Ideal For Everyone - Even With Coeliac Disease”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Everything in this cafe is, or can be, gluten-free. I don't need GF but the two people I was lunching with do. In their opinion the GF coffee and walnut cake here is the best ever. I chose a jacket potato with tuna mayo with chives - a variation I'd never seen before and very much enjoyed - and home-made coleslaw (bit oniony, but good) and a nice fresh mixed salad. It was a sunny day and all the outside tables were full, so we chose to take away rather than eat in, which led to a nice surprise in the form of reduced prices ('because we don't have to serve it to you, or wash up', the friendly assistant said). They have a take-away menu, but only one copy which is stuck to the staff's side of the counter! So you have to ask - apparently it's not exactly the same as the usual menu, but the staff are very obliging and will happily provide whatever it is you'd like. The freshly-made smoothies looked really good, I didn't try one but made a mental note to do so another time. I'd be very happy to eat here again, whether or not I was with people who needed GF food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirribilli, Australia
Level Contributor
465 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Take what's left”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Suppose it was late for Sunday lunch and maybe it's a good sign that they had run out of quiche, mushy peas, several pie flavours and even bottled lemonade (brought me half a glass of what was left, no substitute offered for the short serving). So pies it was, with chips, peas or salad (which also should have been off the menu given the leaves that had gone slimey in it). Pies were delicious and obviously home made, but 2 hours later am battling indigestion. The service I would describe as homely with no real concept of customer care (refer lemonade incident). Serviceable feed when needed, but no winner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheConstantEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gluten and lactose free fish n chips!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

What a treat, gluten and lactose free fish n chips, but also onion rings! Staff was very friendly and helpful! They also had gluten free (but not lactose free) quiches, pies and sweet treats (such as brownies). I have never been this full!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cottage Kitchen also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Cottage Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing