We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally, somewhere good to eat in Kendal”
Review of Romneys

Romneys
Ranked #5 of 148 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Seaton Delaval, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Finally, somewhere good to eat in Kendal”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Excellent service and one of the best carverys we've had (and we've had a lot). Great ambience and attentive staff with 4 meats to choose from. All food well cooked and nicely presented, will definitely be back next time we're in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cutestredpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    288
    72
    33
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good Carvery”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Family Birthday meal for 15, enjoyed by all. Friendly staff and great service. Choice of pork, turkey beef and ham and plenty of it. Lots of different veg and potatoes, Great outdoor play area for children.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneC1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing cavary !”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We went for the cavery and oh my goodness it was amazing.

You have a choice of 4 meats : turkey, pork, glazed gammon and beef and more vegetable options than ive ever seen at a cavery and including more unusual options (from what I've experienced at least) such as sweetcorn and mashed sweet potato. You also get a choice of beef or vegetarian gravey and things like cranberry sauce, apple sauce, mint and horseradish.

I had the gammon and turkey and were extremely tasty and well cooked. The vegetables were also delightful. I wish we could comment on dessert but we were too stuffed from the cavery.

Sadly we live in south wales but if we lived closer this would now be our go to cavery. My partner and I were both very impressed with the food, price and friendly staff : ) thanks !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blackrosepetals91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great little Snug ”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

An amazing place. Room so quirky and we'll designed, loved the sunken bath. The staff were so friendly and helpful Ate in the restaurant on first night. My rack of ribs reminded me of the flintstones huge and BBQ sauce was yummy. Only negative was the parking car park very crowded and hard to find spaces

Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for family meal”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We visited her with my elderly godmother, her daughter and grandson. The carver went down well with young an old. You should see the size of the Yorkshire puddings! The staff were very helpful and carried my godmothers plate back to the table for her. We were at a lovely round table so we could all talk to each other.

I had the winter salad which was delicious, my husband had the fish and chips. Unfortunately the fish was off but the manager sorted this out for us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HattyDebbyDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Romneys also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Romneys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing