We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind your head”

1657 Chocolate House
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mind your head”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Really cute little cafe/shop. Steep and narrow steps to get in, and within as well as being very small inside, so not really suitable for anyone with prams/wheelchairs/etc. This is not a any fault of the shop, but simply that it is an extremely old building. Inside there are lots of original features and exposed beams. A narrow, winding stairway takes you up to some more seating and down to the shop. Staff were friendly and homemade cakes were lovely. Be aware you will need to duck down to get through some doors if you are much more than average height, and steps are narrow and steep so take care, however it us well worth a visit as the proper china pot of tea/coffee and comfy seat make it all feel very relaxing and homely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LIndaC548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    61
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best hot chocolate and the best cakes we've even had, love it!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is the place worth a visit if you were a chocoholic and you won't regret! We made a quick stop in Kendal on our way back and we ordered a Slave Trader (banana flavour) and the first on on the list (don't remember the name, they have 16 different flavours and I wish I would have 16 friends with me) with triple chocolate cake and a gateau slice, that was so so delicious! Nice atmosphere with comfortable seatings and lovely staff, would definitely recommend it! Nice... ...Hot Chocolate... ...Cakes... ...Love it... ...!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasonock1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So naughty”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Do not go here if you want to lose weight....there is such a scrummy selection of chocolate here you will be spoilt for choice. Lovely staff and a very querky building.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Het F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Chocolate Chocolate Chocolate.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We made a quick stop over in Kendal on our way to the lakes. The Chocolate in the name was enough for my wife to check it out and I was dragged in through the narrow stair leading to the cafe entrance.
To say that not one part of the building is neither plumb nor level is an understatement, however its all part of its ancient charm. Duck if you're over 6' as the ceiling is probably just above this at it lowest meandering point.
The soup was very nice, which led us to the Dark Secret. This was two warm cepes folded with dark chocolate and cherry filling with further dark chocolate drizzle over the top and a blob of creme. I have to say we really enjoyed it and would have put it up there with my top favourite sweets had it had a scoop if vanilla ice cream melting slowly over it. Honest it was really nice, rich and extremely filling.
We had hot chocolates from the extensive menu, my wife had the dark chocolate and I had the rum and raisin.
A very good choice for lunch and we certainly felt satisfied from what we had.
Service was very tolerant (we changed our minds from coffees to the hot chocolates once we realised they were on the menu), pleasant and very welcoming.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank burnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must visit for any chocoholic”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The shop is definitely worth a visit - a real Aladdin’s cave of all things chocolate. There is a good choice of pre-packaged products, as well as a large counter with a huge choice of individual chocolates for you to make your own assortment.

The tearoom upstairs has a large menu of hot chocolates, some of which are incredibly inventive. I tried their standard milk chocolate (which I found a little sickly sweet), and their bitter dark hot chocolate (called The Dungeon) which was lovely. They also do amazing cakes, gateau slices and ice creams. A word of warning: the ice cream sundaes are definitely plenty for two (or more) to share – I’d never have managed to finish one alone.

They do also offer savoury meals, though I did not try any of these.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1657 Chocolate House also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to 1657 Chocolate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing