We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quirky must in Kendal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1657 Chocolate House

1657 Chocolate House
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Seating
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A quirky must in Kendal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very nice little chocolate shop with top-class selection and lots of novelty items on the ground floor of this lovely old stone building. Upstairs had a little lunch there - I had a plate of Morecambe Bay shrimps nicely served with good bread and a salad. Very good. And - try this - they do a range of different chocolate drinks. Mmmmmmmm. I had the ginger one. Wow. If in Kendal this is a must.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    57
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
blackpool
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Step back in time for some real chocolate indulgence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

A friend and I dropped into the Chocolate House for a mid morning chocolate fix. What a really cute place. The decor has been maintained as much as possible to give a period tearoom with low ceilings with a tudor feel. The furniture is a mixture of comfortable chairs and tables with pretty cloths on. There is a good selection of reasonably priced light meals but it is the chocolate that is the star of the show. A huge variety of hot chocolates are available. I had one with stem ginger in and my friend has one with rum truffles in - both were gorgeous and served in pretty floral tall mugs with saucers. We both had a chocolate cake each although really did have trouble selecting from such a big choice of flavours and styles of chocolate cake. The staff were very pleasant although busy and took the time to explain the choices available. They wear really traditional waitress outfits with white frilly pinnys and this really adds to the atmosphere of the tearoom. You do need to climb narrow steps up to the tearoom, there may be disabled access but I would doubt it as it is such and old established business. Under the tearoom is a chocolate shop to die for with all things chocolate and more besides. Well worth a visit if you are in Kendal and want to get away from the likes of Costas etc and step back in time to the old Kendal of yesteryear.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank makoshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chocolate Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

If you like chocolate then you'll love this place! A quaint little cafe with a lovely little shop upstairs, if your ever in the area and you like chocolate its a must to visit! So many different types of hot chocolates to choose from and the cheesecakes are to die for!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mind your head”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Really cute little cafe/shop. Steep and narrow steps to get in, and within as well as being very small inside, so not really suitable for anyone with prams/wheelchairs/etc. This is not a any fault of the shop, but simply that it is an extremely old building. Inside there are lots of original features and exposed beams. A narrow, winding stairway takes you up to some more seating and down to the shop. Staff were friendly and homemade cakes were lovely. Be aware you will need to duck down to get through some doors if you are much more than average height, and steps are narrow and steep so take care, however it us well worth a visit as the proper china pot of tea/coffee and comfy seat make it all feel very relaxing and homely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LIndaC548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best hot chocolate and the best cakes we've even had, love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is the place worth a visit if you were a chocoholic and you won't regret! We made a quick stop in Kendal on our way back and we ordered a Slave Trader (banana flavour) and the first on on the list (don't remember the name, they have 16 different flavours and I wish I would have 16 friends with me) with triple chocolate cake and a gateau slice, that was so so delicious! Nice atmosphere with comfortable seatings and lovely staff, would definitely recommend it! Nice... ...Hot Chocolate... ...Cakes... ...Love it... ...!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jasonock1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1657 Chocolate House also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to 1657 Chocolate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing