We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst food and service ever”
Review of Little Thai Chef - CLOSED

Little Thai Chef
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Celebrated Chef Tanaporn Galloway cooks authentic Street Food from North East and Central Thailand. Tana has sold Little Thai Chef on Branthwaite Brow Kendal but still cooks on a bespoke basis for up to 8 guests at her apartment in central Kendal. She also selects local products and ingredients to create great Thai/British fusion dishes. Little Thai Chef is Coeliac, Gluten Free and Vegetarian/Vegan and specific allergy friendly. We offer speciality Thai cookery lessons for groups of 2-6 people. Please mention your requirements prior to placing your order.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst food and service ever”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

ordered a take away meal on Saturday. Waited 45 minutes for food "as just eat" seems to be there priority and people in the shop were loeft waiting.

On opening the food in our room, one of the meals had to be left out side as it stunk and the rest of the meals were like sweat and sour dishwater. I enjoy Thia food and have eaten Thia food the length and breadth of the coutry and this was by far the worst ever.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobSmithyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Owner at Little Thai Chef, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback which has allowed me to look into your order and complaint. Having spoken to the staff you did not wait 45 minutes and your order was not placed behind just eat or telephone orders. The staff did say you were particularly impatient and constantly ringing the service bell. All orders are taken on a first come first served basis and we try to keep waiting times to a minimum. Like a restaurant, we are busy on a Saturday night and as you would wait for a table, you have to take your turn with other customers. Unlike other Thai takeaways where I have worked every dish is made fresh to order so it is never reheated to save time. Food is always kept hot until the order is complete.

Regarding your revue of my food. I would prefer to take constructive criticism rather than insults. I am Thai and have cooked traditionally for nearly 30 years. The Thai shrimp paste I use in the hot & sour dish you refer too is hardly ever found in the UK because it is difficult to import and yes, it does smell. Thai people love it like Europeans like Gorgonzola and yes, it may not be to everyone's taset although it is popular with locals. I can only suggest you do not visit Thailand or if you do, stick to the roast beef in the Irish bars.

Had your issue been consrtuctive I would have offered a courteous reply but as you have given only 3 reviews on Tripadvisor and all of them are shocking maybe you don't understand that it's not just a forum to insult hard working people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    13
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday meal”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic, couldn't have been more helpful. Made a mild dish especially for my 7yr old
A real treat for my birthday
Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Debs11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Owner at Little Thai Chef, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review little Thai Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Burns night special!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Really loved the Haggis wonton. Inspired idea! Especially good with the dipping sauce. Staff are really welcoming.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Owner at Little Thai Chef, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to review Little Thai Chef Tana. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We ordered in the shop for a meal to be delivered later on that day. The food arrived on time and still hot, with a specially made children's Phad Thai which our son loved. It was all delicious and we would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Manager at Little Thai Chef, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to review Little Thai Chef Tana. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Choose a varied mix, and the liver curry is especially good, and you won 'to be disappointed. Makes you feel great inside when the Lakeland rain is pouring down outside!

Helpful?
1 Thank Istreule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Owner at Little Thai Chef, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to review Little Thai Chef Tana. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Thai Chef also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing