We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ashstead Farmhouse

Ashstead Farmhouse, Semi detached, rustic, tradtional,  exposed stone walls, wooden beams.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ashstead Farmhouse, Semi detached, rustic, tradtional,  exposed stone walls, wooden beams.
Piano room, dvd& lamp, WIFI, books, wooden train track, games, and toddler toys in the cupboards.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Ashstead Farmhouse, Semi detached, rustic, tradtional,  exposed stone walls, wooden beams.
Piano room, dvd& lamp, WIFI, books, wooden train track, games, and toddler toys in the cupboards.
Dinning room, seating for eight and a High chair if required.
Dinning room
The Kitchen, accessed down one step from the dinning room, there is also a door leading outside.
Downstairs toilet and sink
Stairs from the sitting room
Landing
Pink double bedroom
Pink double bedroom
Bathroom, electric shower above the bath.
The view from the cairn on Ashstead Fell
Borrowdale between Shap and Tebay.
Walk from Ashstead to High Barrow Bridge
Leicester ewe with her quads
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sekurugeo...
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Booked this place without hesitation based on all the other reviews, we were not disappointed!! We stayed for a few days with our 8 month old son and his grand parents and Ashtead had everything we could possibly need including high chair and travel cot. The one thing I was a bit nervous about was if it was going to be warm enough for the little one and I was immediately satisfied as we walked through the door and it was nice and warm, without even having the fire going! We did stay in November when it rained, a lot, and the house was really nice and cosy for us all. We loved the fact that it was on a farm so nice and peaceful and enjoyed having the cats and chickens to greet us in the morning when we opened the kitchen door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexArnel...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely farmhouse in a beautiful location with a great host”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed here for a friend's 40th birthday. Can't fault the property or the owner. It's rare that a property is bigger than in the photos, but this one was! I would highly recommend it and will definitely look to book again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemmawill...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Enjoyed our stay, better than initially expected, very friendly owners just next door and in a really nice area! Worth the price

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala A
1 review
“A great holiday place surrounded by beautiful views”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Nice place for a holiday, surrounded by beautiful views. Had some quality time in the cottage, esp kids had fun playing with farm animals. The cottage has sufficient facilities for a relaxing holiday. The only problem is that there is no mobile network to make calls, so be prepared for that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaurav_sn...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

That great Feeling when you get more than expected. Ashstead Farmhouse is all about that.
This was our first trip to Lake District, we were 2 families with 4 adults/3 kids.
Ashstead is a beautifully placed cottage in the midst of lush green barn with cute little sheeps all around. you can just stay in the cottage and enjoy the nature.
It was right mix of modern facilities in an old style cottage fitted with fire place, dish washer, washing m/c, modern bathroom, a cute little entertainment room.
And i must say very good choice of books and DVDs. Helen was a perfect host, everything was perfectly planned, she even placed breads, eggs, milk in the kitchen for us.
We had high hopes after reading all the reviews but even 5 stars wont do justice to it. We would love to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cottage itself is so beautiful
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watsgwani...
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect, A real home away from home.”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I came here with 8 colleagues for a week earlier this month and it was great, amazing views and a really lovely cottage and great location to get to all of the sites and lakes you would want to visit. I came back the following week and Helen kindly let me stay in the cottage as an individual. ( I don't think most would do that).

I am currently sat in the lounge with a nice open fire doing some work. Its really is very homely and the family are great, if you like dogs and cats there are a few around so I tend to find myself walking up to play with them haha.

Anyway, would totally recommend for a night a week or even a month, there really isn't enough time to see this whole area.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattCassi...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“The House was as stunning as the location”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed here with a group of work colleagues for team bonding trip. It was fantastic and Helen and her family were lovely and accommodating. The house is in a stunning location with access to great walks and surroundings. I would recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great access to the surrounding areas
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing