We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Star Food”

Greenhouse Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kendal's only rosette awarded restaurant, offering a contemporary menu with a strong emphasis on local produce from Executive Chef Justin Woods and his kitchen team. We offer three different menus; a daily changing three course menu at £28.00 per person, an individually priced main menu and Cumbrian Tasting Menu. Guests can stick to one or mix and match to experience their perfect meal!
St Albans
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Five Star Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

There are three types of menu available to you to chose from and having a three night stay at Castle Green we got to choose from each. There is a daily changing Dinner Menu with three or four different selections per course, a five course tasting menu and an a la carte menu. You can either stick to one menu or choose bits from any of the three to make up your meal. The vast array of ingredients are locally sourced and are very high in quality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    30
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had a meal in here as it is located in the hotel we were stopping in. The food was excellent & the staff were really friendly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank monkie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A bit lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We ate here on a Monday night, as we were residents of the hotel. As is usual at the hotel, the service here was very good, bordering on the gushing. We ordered the tasting menu, with wine.
The first course was a selection of smoked meats/fish and required very little cooking, in fact, it required none. It relied entirely on ingredients, and it was ok. Hard to get excited about, I'm sure you will agree. The second course was hogget broth with goats curd. This was full of meat, and had the potential to be reasonably good, but it was woefully under seasoned which was a shame.
The main course was pork, and lots of it (somebody here hasn't looked up the term 'tasting menu'). It was pleasant enough, but far too much for most people to enjoy. Pork is undeniably rich, and both of us struggled. Sadly, we left most of it on the plate. The cheeses were next, and all were very decent efforts. It comes with another heap of bread, and a vat of chutney. Given the overpowering flavour of the chutney, I suggest caution/leaving it entirely alone, as the flavour of the cheese is entirely lost.
The dessert, which I was not really looking forward to by this stage, was the best dish of the night. The gingerbread pudding was light and warming, whilst the parfait was full of chocolate chunks and beautifully minty.
The wines were all very decent, and the pairing was reasonable.
This cost around £100 for two, with tip. It was ok, but I won't be rushing back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top Nosh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Lovely airy restaurant, good service, superb food, lovely views over the gardens and surrounding areas

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab food !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We dined out here as guests of our visitors from Canada before their return home. From our arrival we could not fault the service and attention paid to our party, nothing was too much trouble. After browsing what turned out to be a mix and match from both the table d'hote and the a la carte menus our orders were taken. A short wait (about 10 mins) and they were ready for us. The food was nothing less than terrific. We all had a lovely meal with wine , followed by some sumptuous desserts. We would without doubt, dine here again. It is expensive, but well worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greenhouse Restaurant also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Greenhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing