We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roast pork sandwich to die for!”
Review of Relish

Relish
Ranked #18 of 148 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Grade 2 listed building in the heart of Kendal, serving locally sourced home made food - famed for our pulled pork & homemade BBQ sauce, slow cooked beef chilli, soups & breads, home roasted meats, and of course Karen's famous cakes.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Roast pork sandwich to die for!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a quiet and quick lunch in a rainy Kendal and happened upon this lovely little cafe. Service was with a smile, prompt and the food was nourishing. I had a hot roast pork sandwich (see pics) which was thoroughly enjoyed. Certainly one to visit in the opinion of our group of five.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    30
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a great little find”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Was looking for something to eat with 2 adults and 3 hungry children. What a fab place to go, lovely food, lovely staff who couldn't do enough for us, well worth a visit

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dav9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cafe in wrong building!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Really nice snacks, sandwiches and cakes and plenty of variety here. It is a great place to get a sandwich to take out and perhaps sit by the river on a sunny day.
The staff were all brilliant.
The downside I thought was that the seating area was too small and cramped! The decor was nice with food books to read if you want and all nice and clean but I felt a bit claustrophobic after a while.
Also it's a shame, as I saw mentioned in another review, there were no toilets! It was politely suggested we went next door to Nero and used theirs! Surely that can't be right if you are not buying from there!

The reason for my average rating is solely due to the "intimate" setting which becomes uncomfortable when staying for anything longer than a quick drink - otherwise brilliant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, England
1 review
“Yummy!!!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Beautiful food and great service!!! Home made chilli was delicious!!!only downfall is there are no toilets!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luby27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great snack food”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Really enjoyed our lunch. Both of the sandwiches we ordered were tasty. The food was delivered quickly and the service was good. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Relish also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Relish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing