We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals choice!”
Review of India Restaurant

India Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 153 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ideal for romantic meal and business meating or family meal, we cater for partys for birthdays wedding
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Locals choice!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

As a Kendal resident I feel it my duty to champion this place as the best Indian in town. Consistently great food and service; every dish is big on flavour, never bland. If you like it hot, ask the chaps for a little of their special chilli sauce!

Helpful?
Thank jdec84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    43
    12
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food and service ”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Couldn't fault the food or the service. Pity we're on holiday - makes a return visit difficult! Would like to try some of the unusual dished on the menu, which had all the usual, but not the ridiculous number of meals some Indian restaurant's have.

Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The food at the restaurant is very tasty but we waited an hour and a half before it came. They were quite busy with a few largish groups but we had almost lost the will to eat by the time it came. This is not the first time we have had slow service here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curioustraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Staying overnight in Kendal with a colleague we asked the receptionist for a good Indian restaurant. She said this was the best in town, so on her advice we headed in. The poppadoms were excellent. Light and crispy and the sauces and onions to go with them were tasty. Mixed kebab starters were delicious and set us up for an equally mouthwatering main course. Nan breads, chapati and rice were all excellent. The only reason I have not given this restaurant full marks was down to the last piece of service. The plates were cleared and a minute later the bill appeared at the table. We did not ask for it and we're not asked if we wanted coffee etc. that was the only black mark, but I would definetly recommend this place!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank UncleBuck_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

As a family of adults we love to go to India restaurant. The staff are always very friendly, able to advise if you are unsure what to have. The food always tastes freshly cooked and is delicious. It is always a popular family choice and we like to try different things on the menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank judith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India Restaurant also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing