We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ideal family sized place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romneys Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Romneys Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“ideal family sized place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in one of the apartments with an upstairs bathroom and double bedroom - which has a big bunkbed in the living room/kitchen downstairs. This seemed excellent value as a "family" stop off.. in fact the kitchen was rather basic so don't expect to cook much more than breakfast there. The gastro-pub attached is excellent - good beer and food (although only one vegetarian main I think!). We had to drive down the road for breakfast - which would be a bit of a pain on a holiday stop-over (so bring some breakfast with you!)

Decor is pretty amazing - the huge TV on the bedroom wall/ceiling, massive bath etc...

Toddlers/elderly - Watch out with the fairly tight spiral staircase to the upstairs.

in summary highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    48
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
76
65
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Came here for a 3 night stay during the week. Very clean, well equipped, delightful location, right next door to a lovely pub ... Only slight downside was no bedside drawers so no where to unpack underwear etc but certainly not a major issue.... I will be back :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

What an excellent find in Kendal. We stayed for one night but wish we could have stayed longer! The apartments are homely, stylish and well equipped and very clean. James the manager was extremely helpful! accommodating and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Cosy accommodation, will definitely be back!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Else68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Wish we had stayed longer!!! Two nights was not enough. The apartment was fabulous - comfy, clean, modern, quiet. Full kitchen facilities with everything we needed. Staff were superb (Siena is a gem!). The location was a good place to explore from and if I have the opportunity to come back to the area I would definitely stay again. The pub/restaurant is really good too and great value!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Can't rate Romneys highly enough. We stayed 4 nights in Lodge 2 which was very comfy and warm with the morning sun streaming through the French doors of the living room. The customer service was wonderful, especially from Siena who was so helpful, even organising our laundry for us. The lodges are attached to a pub which has a fine selection of beers and has a wonderful ambience. Each evening we enjoyed tasting the various beers and ciders available on tap at the bar before heading back to our lodge to cook dinner. We did eat at the pub as well - lovely food but huge servings, so make sure you're hungry!
We had some problems with the hot water but these were fixed very promptly.
We would definitely recommend Romneys for anyone looking for apartment accommodation close to the lakes but away from the busy tourist towns such as Ambleside or Windemere. The bonus of staying in Kendal is it's proximity to the West Yorkshire Dales, which adds another dimension to a holiday in the Lakes District.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamsjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Family of five stayed in the three bedroom apartment which was ideal. Well equipped and comfortable with plenty of space to hang out during Lake District showers! Playground stops the children getting bored. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Good location for Kendal and surrounding area. Bar serves excellent real ales, good wines and has a great menu. Sunday carvery was very popular!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We recently returned to Romneys (Lodge 2) and yet again we couldn't fault the apartment, restaurant or staff. Based in a great location for exploring the lakes the apartment is beautifully designed with a modern, comfortable and homely feel. The bedroom is a lovely size and the bed is a dream to sleep in. The high standard of décor is also reflected in the restaurant which offers a lovely atmosphere and amazing food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
7.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romneys Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romneys Apartments

Property: Romneys Apartments
Address: Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Romneys Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romneys Apartments Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing