We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Fantastic place to stay to relax and explore the...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hyning Estate - 17th Century Architecture meet 21st Century Technology & Luxury
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hyning Estate - 17th Century Architecture meet 21st Century Technology & Luxury
The Courtyard & Bar with The Granary above Returning to The Estate after a winter's day walk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
96 reviews
The Hyning Estate - 17th Century Architecture meet 21st Century Technology & Luxury
The Courtyard & Bar with The Granary above
Returning to The Estate after a winter's day walk
Meet your hosts ..... Jan
.... and Richard - we both welcome you to our Grand Design.
The Granary's Master Bedroom
The Granary's Shower & Bathroom
The Granary's Kitchen
The Bake House bedroom
The Old Forge's Twin Bedroom & Rooftop Patio
The Old Forge's Shower & Bathroom
The Old Forge's Lounge
The Old Forge's Kitchen
The Bake House
The Bake House's Shower
Hall Beck Cottage's Kitchen
Hall Beck Cottage's Dining Room
The Barns and Stream from the bridge
The Carriage House
The Bar with Courtyard beyond
The Old Farmhouse's Lounge
The Old Farmhouse (with link through to Hall Beck Cottage)
The Bunk Room in The Old Farmhouse (Hall Beck Cottage has a similar one)
The Lounge in Hall Beck Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 12
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 96 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nwwsligo
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay to relax and explore the lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Bake House for three nights. The cottage exceeded all our expectations and everything provided was of high quality. The Byre was a nice touch, a place to relax, have a drink and a chat.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back. Jan and Richard are great hosts.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Size, location, finishing touches
Liked least: Mobile signal!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2nations
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very specIal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

All previous reviews have got it exactly right. A wonderful property, beautifully appointed, with every detail thought of.
The weather was horrid for most of our stay, but the accommodation more than made up for it
There were 8 of us staying in two adjoining properties, with enough space for us all to relax
We booked in advance for a Sunday lunch which was delicious, made even nicer by the fact that it was on site, with no distance to travel!
Just as we were finishing our leisurely lunch, Richard put on the Jungle Book for the 2 kids (and 6 adults!) to enjoy, which allowed us to extend a really lovely afternoon
A really wonderful wkd in a property where every thought has been out into making your stay as special as possible. You'll be hard pushed to find a nicer property!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The relaxed but evidently apparent service
Liked least: The weather!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j00lz1236...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were looking for a relaxing stay and I really dont think we could have chosen better. The accommodation was fantastic, everything you could need, the standard of all the fixtures and fittings was very high and it felt luxurious. The shower was a real favourite for us and although we do not have problems with our mobility it was easy to see that all attempts had been made to assist visitors with this issue in this accommodation. (The Carriage House).
The bedding was of a high quality and the bed was also very comfortable.
The setting is beautiful and peaceful. We are aware that some people have mentioned how remote the setting is but for us this was a plus point-the nearest supermarket is only around a 5 minute drive away, so although the accommodation was in a very quiet area it was convenient for shopping with Kendall only a little further away. WE also had a drive out to Windermere only about 15 miles away.
We also enjoyed popping to the 'bar' on a couple of evenings enjoying the local beer. We are definitely hoping to go again!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Liked least: Honestly cannot think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The Hyning Estate is a must for visitors to the Lake District. We stayed here at the weekend for my Father’s 70th Birthday. The accommodation was superb and I can’t recommend it highly enough. The setting is gorgeous - picture postcard and we were made to feel very welcome. We would definitely go back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Harrogate, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and for spending New Year with us in Beckside Barns and The Tack Barn. We were very pleased to show you round our "Grand Design" and to welcome you into the Bar (and the Firework Display at midnight). Good to avoid the torrential rain & flooding in many parts of the UK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Guildford, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Really nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing