We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful holiday apartment, styleful and relaxing”
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Beckside Barns - 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with optional extra beds Beckside Barns is part of a traditional 'Bank Barn'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Beckside Barns - 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with optional extra beds
Beckside Barns is part of a traditional 'Bank Barn'
The large window upstairs has amazing views over the Parkland and Lakeland Fells
The 'default' layout - Kitchen & Dining Upstairs (optionally can be downstairs)
Dining for up to 10 people (potentially 12)
Optional downstairs dining for 8 people (for those with low mobility)
The kitchen with stairs down beyond
Bedroom No 1 (upstairs - double) - there is room for a cot where the camera is.
Bedroom No 2 (upstairs) - room for an optional extra child's bed if required.
Family Bathroom No 1 (upstairs)
Lounge area (downstairs)
Bedroom No 3 (King - downstairs)
Bedroom 4 (downstairs)
Family bathroom 4 (downstairs)
Optional extra bed (downstairs)
The Bar at Reception
The Patio at Reception
Summer drinks on the Patio at Reception
Amazing Sunsets
The Bar and Patio at Reception (at dusk)
The Hyning Estate in bloom (Spring)
Landscaped Grounds
Lambs on the fellside in Spring
EV charging point (free for guests)
The Hyning Estate uses Heat Pumps, Solar Panels, MVHR and low carbon electricity
The Hyning Estate in Winter (Wonderfully warm & Cosy)
Sheep in front of Beckside Barns in the snow
Fireworks on New Year's Eve
Fireworks on New Year's Eve
The nearby Howgill Fells
Lowgill Viaduct
The Lake District in the Autumn
Lakes & Mountains
Haystacks from the shores of Buttermere
The Lake District is a great place to bring kids walking, cycling or exploring in the woods
A New Year's Day Walk to Latrigg (The Hyning Estate's Walk 27)
Wonderful Views
7 miles from Kendal - A Gateway to The English Lakes
The Hyning Estate - Cumbria Tourism's Self-Catering Winners and Sustainable Tourism Finalists 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mray2307
Zutphen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful holiday apartment, styleful and relaxing”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Hyning Estate's location is a little away from the busy lakes, perfect for both getting away from it all and for making the most of what the region has to offer. The holiday cottages/apartments are beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, and the owners make everybody feel at home. For a family of 4 this was just perfect and we shall definitely be returning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy and tranquil - good base for cycling”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a great place, we stayed in the Carriage House for 5 nights and had a fab time - our expectations were already high after perusing the reviews beforehand but it was even better than we expected. The place is modern, cosy, comfortable, warm, well equipped, spotlessly clean and to top it all the owners are very helpful and friendly. It’s clear that a lot of thought has gone into making this place such a pleasant stay - so nice to come back to after a hard day's exploring.

We booked at last minute for 5 nights and on arrival we were very pleased to see a welcome pack including some excellent local produce and a delicious bottle of wine - much appreciated after the drive up which was also uneventful thanks to the travel tips provided in the confirmation emails - a recommended tweak of the default sat-nav route helped us avoid some slow singletrack roads.

While quaffing the wine we read through the history of the estate in the comprehensive guide. This includes the story of how the Hyning Estate has evolved over the years as well as a bit of background about the hosts - this is a really nice touch and interesting too.

Usefully there are also plenty of recommendations for things to do and places to go. This was particularly good for us since our last minute plans meant we hadn’t spent much time preparing anything beyond getting there.

We had some memorable cycles and walks in our short stay - this was made easier since Richard and Jan have provided some recommend routes - including some that start and end at the estate which is very convenient since you can get going straight away. We had bikes delivered by a local bike hire company - having them ready to go meant we could make the most of the good weather on our very first day.

There are plenty of places to cycle on the doorstep but we tried two of the provided cycle routes that start from the accommodation and the easiest way to follow them is by downloading them from the estate website (or via the provided terminals) which also provides helpful tips about how to make the most of it are provided in the welcome pack - another example of the attention to detail that helped make the stay so enjoyable.

We also had some lovely walks in the lake district but our favourite day was the cycling the route referred to as the ‘Hyning Estate Borrowdale Challenge’ - number 4 in the recommended list and possibly one of the longest ones at 18 miles. It was a very scenic and peaceful route with distinct stages breaking up the ride nicely and when we got back we had a pleasant additional surprise - the completion of this particular ride is rewarded with a beverage of your choice by Richard! I chose a local ale and enjoyed it very much, thanks and I hope we’ll be back another time to do some more exploring and enjoy the hospitality!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
We're sure that you'll be an inspiration to others to stay and to try The Hyning Estate's cycle routes and thank you also for the extra tips and photos on The "Borrowdale Challenge". A well earned round of Local Ales! Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman G
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Standards fully maintained and the whole site maturing beautifully.”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is our third visit in five holidays and the site is continually improving and maturing. We were here soon after it opened and I know how difficult it is difficult to start a business, how much more difficult it is when you have high standards but the most difficult element is maintaining standards and Richard and Jan have achieved this in spades.
On each occasion we stayed we have used "The Tack Barn" and it is clean, warm, well appointed and just a really nice place to stay.
Each time we have stayed, the accommodation has some additional features from the last visit and everything is so fresh that you would think you were the first guest since redecoration.
We will be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thank you, It was a pleasure to welcome you both back and to catch up with your news. As one of the first to "discover" The Hyning Estate your ongoing review is most appreciated as was the original "Schwarzenegger" review which was pivotal in spreading the word ... Best Wishes, Jan & Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilyharve...
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect unwind ”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed here the last week of June and couldn't have been more relaxed in beautiful surroundings. Every attention to detail in the lovely cottages ensures a perfect week . So many lovely walks from the cottage or further afield give you so many options . Great opportunity to see wildlife including some hares and 2 types of deer . We arrived here tired and stressed from the rat race and left refreshed with happy memories . Thank you from Andy and Sarah

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aligent50
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ms”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Great place to stay. I was there with a group of girl friends and we had a fab time. The accommodation is perfect and such a high spec we didn't want for anything definitely 5 star.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancatwom...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Way”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our four night stay in the well appointed Carriage House. We were comfortable, and warm. The cottage is equipped with high quality fixtures and fittings, from the very comfortable king size bed to the lovely Denby Halo crockery. The estate is well cared for, and quite close to Kendal, Sedberge and the lakes. We would love to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthMH47
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We booked the whole place out for a group half board. As usual it was fantastic. Beautifully turned out, warm, cozy and comfortable even on the sofa bed. Stunning location and very friendly. I would definitely recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing