We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
The Hyning Estate - 17th Century Architecture meet 21st Century Technology & Luxury
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hyning Estate - 17th Century Architecture meet 21st Century Technology & Luxury
The Courtyard & Bar with The Granary above Returning to The Estate after a winter's day walk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
110 reviews
The Hyning Estate - 17th Century Architecture meet 21st Century Technology & Luxury
The Courtyard & Bar with The Granary above
Returning to The Estate after a winter's day walk
Meet your hosts ..... Jan
.... and Richard - we both welcome you to our Grand Design.
The Granary's Master Bedroom
The Granary's Shower & Bathroom
The Granary's Kitchen
The Bake House bedroom
The Old Forge's Twin Bedroom & Rooftop Patio
The Old Forge's Shower & Bathroom
The Old Forge's Lounge
The Old Forge's Kitchen
The Bake House
The Bake House's Shower
Hall Beck Cottage's Kitchen
Hall Beck Cottage's Dining Room
The Barns and Stream from the bridge
The Carriage House
The Bar with Courtyard beyond
The Old Farmhouse's Lounge
The Old Farmhouse (with link through to Hall Beck Cottage)
The Bunk Room in The Old Farmhouse (Hall Beck Cottage has a similar one)
The Lounge in Hall Beck Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 110 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lorraine...
Markinch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed here for a few days to break up a trip south and could easily have stayed longer. The one bedroom cottage was spacious , well designed, warm and a real home from home. The owners are extremely pleasant and helpful. There are some lovely restaurants,cafes and shops in Kendal and plenty to see and do in the area.
I’m sure we will be back for another visit in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysticfru...
Tarleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quiet location, perfect cottage, great hosts”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Found the Hyning Estate by chance while looking for somewhere to stay in the Lakes. Booked at short notice, arrived a few days after booking (The Tack Barn).

Lovely setting just out of Kendal where there is a supermarket if you need anything. I must say though that the cottage was probably the best equipped I have ever stayed in - had everything you could thing of from dishwasher tabs to salt & pepper - not to mention coffee machine and milk in the fridge!

Not only did it have everything you could possibly need it was also finished with nice stuff. All too often places are 'equipped' with cheap Scandinavian basics. . . . not here, it was all top quality and as I'm fussy about wine glasses - these were the best I've seen in a hire property. It might not mean much to most guests but to me it demonstrates that the owners are after quality - which they have achieved.

There is a 'comprehensive' guide/history/manual of everything you need to know and much more.

Overall it was a lovely short break - the only downside was we could only spare 2 nights out of our schedules. However we will be back and I've already recommended it to friends.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineH...
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent property for two, and excellent customer service”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We were very impressed by the design and eco-friendliness of the cottage. The heating system seemed most efficient. the cottage was stylish. Richard and Jan really put themselves out when they were on holiday, to meet our needs as customers. Kelly was most helpful and cheerful. lovely and peaceful!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharkiefa...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect luxury accommodation for families”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is our third stay at the Hyning Estate and the whole family enjoy the time that we spend here. There is plenty to do both in The Lakes and The Dales and we never fail to find new things to discover. Everything about the accommodation is perfect, the quality of the fittings and the attention to detail that is shown by Jan and Richard is amazing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
We're now in our 5th year and its wonderful to have so many Guests who have returned again and again ... for us it makes everything so worthwhile (and something we look forward to) when we can truly greet "Guests" as "Friends" ... Thank you Jane and to our "Extended Family" around the World.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dialysis”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Others have praised the excellence of this complex and the friendliness of the owners and I would go along with that without reservation. It might be of interest to people on dialysis that the hospital at nearby Kendal has a couple of beds for holidaymakers. Thoroughly professional and helpful with refreshments too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Errk_flow...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What a fantastic week we enjoyed here last week. We were having a large family reunion for my Grandfather's 90th birthday and stayed in Beckside Barns and my Grandfather in the Carriage House. All properties were impeccably clean and Jan and Richard gave a very warm welcome without being at all interfering. They were always on hand though if we had any queries.
The properties have everything you need for a short stay, well equipped.
The little ones loved it too with comfy beds and a sports field within easy walking difference. The cows were also a subject of great fascination.
I have spent this week day dreaming about sitting outside of the carriage house again enjoying a glass of wine in the sunshine. We would love to visit again in the future. Thanks so much Kate & The rest of the Goodfellow clan (old and young!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mray2307
Zutphen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Beautiful holiday apartment, styleful and relaxing”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Hyning Estate's location is a little away from the busy lakes, perfect for both getting away from it all and for making the most of what the region has to offer. The holiday cottages/apartments are beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, and the owners make everybody feel at home. For a family of 4 this was just perfect and we shall definitely be returning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing