We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5- star accommodation in the most peaceful...”
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Beckside Barns - 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with optional extra beds Beckside Barns is part of a traditional 'Bank Barn'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Beckside Barns - 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with optional extra beds
Beckside Barns is part of a traditional 'Bank Barn'
The large window upstairs has amazing views over the Parkland and Lakeland Fells
The 'default' layout - Kitchen & Dining Upstairs (optionally can be downstairs)
Dining for up to 10 people (potentially 12)
Optional downstairs dining for 8 people (for those with low mobility)
The kitchen with stairs down beyond
Bedroom No 1 (upstairs - double) - there is room for a cot where the camera is.
Bedroom No 2 (upstairs) - room for an optional extra child's bed if required.
Family Bathroom No 1 (upstairs)
Lounge area (downstairs)
Bedroom No 3 (King - downstairs)
Bedroom 4 (downstairs)
Family bathroom 4 (downstairs)
Optional extra bed (downstairs)
The Bar at Reception
The Patio at Reception
Summer drinks on the Patio at Reception
Amazing Sunsets
The Bar and Patio at Reception (at dusk)
The Hyning Estate in bloom (Spring)
Landscaped Grounds
Lambs on the fellside in Spring
EV charging point (free for guests)
The Hyning Estate uses Heat Pumps, Solar Panels, MVHR and low carbon electricity
The Hyning Estate in Winter (Wonderfully warm & Cosy)
Sheep in front of Beckside Barns in the snow
Fireworks on New Year's Eve
Fireworks on New Year's Eve
The nearby Howgill Fells
Lowgill Viaduct
The Lake District in the Autumn
Lakes & Mountains
Haystacks from the shores of Buttermere
The Lake District is a great place to bring kids walking, cycling or exploring in the woods
A New Year's Day Walk to Latrigg (The Hyning Estate's Walk 27)
Wonderful Views
7 miles from Kendal - A Gateway to The English Lakes
The Hyning Estate - Cumbria Tourism's Self-Catering Winners and Sustainable Tourism Finalists 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mohammads...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5- star accommodation in the most peaceful surrounding”
Reviewed 29 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic location, comfortable and very clean accommodation, great service. Cannot find any fault...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guide7887...
1 review
“A great stay with lovely impressions.”
Reviewed 13 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Jan and Richard are very friendly and helpful. The accomodation is fantastic equipped and spotlessly clean. The surrounding area is amazing. It's a good startingpoint for trips to the lakes and walking-tours in the mountains.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEGuk
UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Annual family get together”
Reviewed 30 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Could not have wished for a better place. So tranquil and quiet. Well appointed cottages. Tastefully decorated. We rented the Hyning house. Good kitchen. Only criticism is about the knife sharpener. Not up to the job it supposed to do. We were blessed with two fantastic days.
Will be back with friends and family for some other celebration.
Thank you Richard and his team for maintaining the place to such a high standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamD75...
Formby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality accommodation”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The place is actually better than the pictures and the quality of the fixtures and fittings is probably the highest in any place we have visited in years. It made for a very peaceful break for the 12 of us and would recommend Hyning Housr to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
We really appreciate the great reviews that so many of you leave after staying with us at The Hyning Estate - we love to read your comments which make all our efforts feel really worthwhile and which are so valuable to those who are thinking about staying with us for the first time. Thank you all - Our very Best Wishes and we hope to see you again soon. Jan & Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelPre...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebrations”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Perfect location and fantastic facilities - better than being at home! Everything has been thought of and Richard and Jan are on hand if anything else is needed

Fabulous place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Markinch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed here for a few days to break up a trip south and could easily have stayed longer. The one bedroom cottage was spacious , well designed, warm and a real home from home. The owners are extremely pleasant and helpful. There are some lovely restaurants,cafes and shops in Kendal and plenty to see and do in the area.
I’m sure we will be back for another visit in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysticfru...
Tarleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quiet location, perfect cottage, great hosts”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Found the Hyning Estate by chance while looking for somewhere to stay in the Lakes. Booked at short notice, arrived a few days after booking (The Tack Barn).

Lovely setting just out of Kendal where there is a supermarket if you need anything. I must say though that the cottage was probably the best equipped I have ever stayed in - had everything you could thing of from dishwasher tabs to salt & pepper - not to mention coffee machine and milk in the fridge!

Not only did it have everything you could possibly need it was also finished with nice stuff. All too often places are 'equipped' with cheap Scandinavian basics. . . . not here, it was all top quality and as I'm fussy about wine glasses - these were the best I've seen in a hire property. It might not mean much to most guests but to me it demonstrates that the owners are after quality - which they have achieved.

There is a 'comprehensive' guide/history/manual of everything you need to know and much more.

Overall it was a lovely short break - the only downside was we could only spare 2 nights out of our schedules. However we will be back and I've already recommended it to friends.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing