We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highgate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Millers Beck(Kendal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
21
27
11
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
27
11
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingbrewery arts centreprivate car parkgreat locationdef stay againrestaurants and shopsbed and breakfaststayed for nightsvisiting kendalwarm welcomegigjilllandlady
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Had an overnight stay at the Highgate recently as I and a friend attended a gig at the nearby Brewery Arts Centre. We were allocated single rooms and mine was quite large with a spacious bathroom area, a very comfortable bed, flatscreen tv and the usual tea/coffee making facilities. The breakfast, cerials and a full English, was more than adequate. We attended a cracking gig at the Arts Centre featuring US country songstress, Zoe Muth and her talented band, The Lost High Rollers and were well fortified with some exquisite real ale. Although we didn't eat there the meals looked delicious! If we go to another gig at the Arts Centre we'll certainly stay at the Highgate again.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room No 3 at the rear of the building, away from the traffic noise of the main street
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddersCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Pleasant greeting on arrival.
Freshly decorated, very clean, comfortable and warm accomodation.
Hearty breakfast.
Central location.
Good secure parking.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street side and slept soundly.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

On our driving holiday around the UK, we stopped for the night at this wonderful B&B. The girls greeted us very warmly and our accomodation was great with a fab breakfast. Secure parking is a bonus here. The Brewery behind Highgate was a great place also to wet our whistles.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sueandlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. There was no requirement for a deposit when booked over the phone. The room ,a twin ,was exceptionally clean, and warm if abit dated. Spare bedding for any cold nights was placed in the room. The full English breakfast was well cooked and the food was of good quality and plentiful. The hotel was ideally situated for the town centre of Kendal and was also ideal if going for days out into the lakes or the Yorkshire dales.
Tea and coffee facilities were in the room and replenished each day.
There is ample secure parking which is located behind the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Just had a night at this hotel, it was our first stay here although we go to Kendal quite regular.
Had a warm welcome from Linda, room comfortable en-suite all Immaculately clean, spotless, hotel in good location for all shops, restaurants, bar's. Breakfast was plenty and cooked perfectly.
Bed was so comfortable, had tea& coffee facilities in room and a hairdryer and tv too.
It is a historic Grade 2 listed townhouse,rebuilt in 1769 lovely charming house, even had a beautiful original fireplace in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lambanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews