We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a one night stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Highgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highgate Hotel
Ranked #25 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Leeds, Yorkshire.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just a one night stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This a very old & equally quaint hotel. On entering the reception area there is a very strong smell of cigarette smoke. I understand the owner is a smoker but felt that cigarette smoke had just soaked into that part of the building. However, there was no trace of it in the sleeping & eating areas, thank God. The hotel was very clean, our room was excellent though very noisy from the traffic on the main street out side. Not a fault of the hotel. If I were to stay again I would request a room at the back of the hotel. The breakfast was EXCELLENT, & large too. Another plus for this hotel is the free & secure parking at the rear, very important in Kendal where parking is at a premium, & expensive too.

Room Tip: Choose one at the back of the hotel away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    25
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
19
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely old building full of character. Stopped here for a night during an end2end cycle ride. The lovely owner even did my laundry for me and the breakfast was superb. Rooms are spacious and bathroom nice. Nice central location too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuggeranong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great location. Spotless room and really nice breakfast. Just couldn't understand that in a non smoking B & B how the landladies smoke could waft up into our room. It really put us off what could be a really nice stay. It clearly states on their add that this is strictly a non smoking hotel.

Room Tip: Front rooms a bit noisy but only stay if you are a smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennyiscute2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This b&b has a central location and offers private off-street parking - a real boon in Kendal. On the down side, it looked a little run-down and the bedroom floor had a pronounced slope! We found 80 pounds for a double room to be a bit too much for what was offered.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night lovely quirky hotel it's old and slopes in places which adds to it's charm. We had a room at the front with a view of the Castle. Friendly staff excellent breakfast would definitely recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here, room really nice and clean, staff are really helpful and friendly, central to everything you need, and breakfast was excellent, with a 5 star hygene rating too, i would recomend this hotel, ane we will be coming back soon

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank marsfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Town centre B&B stayed here for 10 nights over two weeks (not weekend). The hotel itself is clean and tidy, just a little tired. It's an old building and quite quirky, which is a good thing a mile away from same as corporate hotels.
I stayed the first week on the top floor at the front of the hotel, I found the road quite noisy. There is wooden shutters on the windows which I closed and also drew the curtains but I still found that the road noise did disturb my night. The second week I moved to the rear of the hotel overlooking the car park which I found to be much better, lovely and quiet.
The rooms are all centrally heated and kept nice and warm, both rooms were en-suite with showers, a little small but perfectly adequate.
Breakfast was cereal or fruit and juice, I had the cooked breakfast which was lovely. I was asked the previous night what I would like for breakfast so really it's up to you what you would like.
All in all I would recommend this hotel as good centrally located base and it's close location to all town centre facility's.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rock2Blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.1 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Inn
Shakespeare Inn
#8 of 42 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Sundial Guest House
#9 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate Hotel

Property: Highgate Hotel
Address: 128 Highgate, Kendal LA9 4HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Highgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highgate Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing