We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...”
Review of Highgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highgate Hotel
Ranked #25 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My family and I have just returned from a 2-night stay at this hotel. As previous reviewers have commented, the owner is obviously a smoker and the smell of cigarette smoke permeates throughout the premises. It was so strong during our first evening that it affected my eyes.

The owner mentioned within the first ten to fifteen minutes of our arrival that due to the building being Grade II listed the windows are only single glazed and that there are restrictions on what they can and cannot do to the property. I'm not familiar with the listed building restrictions but surely it does not prevent internal redecoration? The whole place needs a complete refurbishment. The staircase, some of the floors and walls, and even the toilet in our shower room were not level, which if the property was better maintained would be considered quirky and amusing. The woodchip wallpaper, floral carpets and old paintwork look tired and dated. Our bedroom had a washbasin, the toilet and shower were adjoining. All were spotlessly clean but the washbasin was cracked, the toilet crooked and the shower screen broken.The bed linen and towels were spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. Room tea making facilities were basic. The hairdryer provided in the room was of good quality. There was a small television which picked up the usual digital channels but the satellite connection for Sky was often interrupted. The Hotel provides free WiFi, a great bonus, as was the free, entry-code controlled parking.

Breakfast is served in a dining room at the front of the property. Grapefruit segments, prunes, and a range of cereals (Weetabix, Special K, Cornflakes, Museli) were available. There was also a jug of orange juice; it was not fresh; probably long life. The cooked breakfast was obviously provided on a budget. The sausages were of very poor quality, probably frozen and with very little meat content. The bacon was very salty and the mushrooms out of a tin. There was a range of jams, marmalades and marmite on the table and toast was provided upon request, as were tea and coffee. If you are looking for a bit of luxury then the Highgate is not for you. If you are on a walking holiday and happy to 'make do' with a clean bed and hot shower then you may find this bearable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyW852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    25
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
19
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Similar to a previous review the smell of stale cigarette greeting you when you entered was an ominous sign. However, no sign of the smell in the bedrooms upstairs or the dining room.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was central to everything and the breakfast was pretty good. I invited two more family members who live there to join us for breakfast and the staff were very accommodating for a very reasonable extra cost.
All in all very comfortable and certainly fine for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pen58r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, Yorkshire.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This a very old & equally quaint hotel. On entering the reception area there is a very strong smell of cigarette smoke. I understand the owner is a smoker but felt that cigarette smoke had just soaked into that part of the building. However, there was no trace of it in the sleeping & eating areas, thank God. The hotel was very clean, our room was excellent though very noisy from the traffic on the main street out side. Not a fault of the hotel. If I were to stay again I would request a room at the back of the hotel. The breakfast was EXCELLENT, & large too. Another plus for this hotel is the free & secure parking at the rear, very important in Kendal where parking is at a premium, & expensive too.

Room Tip: Choose one at the back of the hotel away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely old building full of character. Stopped here for a night during an end2end cycle ride. The lovely owner even did my laundry for me and the breakfast was superb. Rooms are spacious and bathroom nice. Nice central location too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuggeranong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great location. Spotless room and really nice breakfast. Just couldn't understand that in a non smoking B & B how the landladies smoke could waft up into our room. It really put us off what could be a really nice stay. It clearly states on their add that this is strictly a non smoking hotel.

Room Tip: Front rooms a bit noisy but only stay if you are a smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennyiscute2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This b&b has a central location and offers private off-street parking - a real boon in Kendal. On the down side, it looked a little run-down and the bedroom floor had a pronounced slope! We found 80 pounds for a double room to be a bit too much for what was offered.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night lovely quirky hotel it's old and slopes in places which adds to it's charm. We had a room at the front with a view of the Castle. Friendly staff excellent breakfast would definitely recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Inn
Shakespeare Inn
#7 of 42 in Kendal
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
2.7 mi away
The Punch Bowl
The Punch Bowl
#19 of 42 in Kendal
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate Hotel

Property: Highgate Hotel
Address: 128 Highgate, Kendal LA9 4HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Highgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highgate Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing