We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow - Fantastic Weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room seats 14 Kitchen/diner - Range cooker, granite worktops
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Dining room seats 14
Kitchen/diner - Range cooker, granite worktops
Kitchen/diner
Kitchen/diner
Lounge leading to kitchen
Lounge with multifuel burning stove, beams.
Twin bedroom
Hallway - leading to back garden, parking area and detached garage
Gill Side Barn front entrance
Alpacas in the paddock  having a paddle can be seen from the barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JulesViRu...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow - Fantastic Weekend”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

15 of us stayed at Gill Side Barn for a hen weekend in April. I can not recommend this beautiful place enough. From the start of organising the trip, Wendy who owns the property was really helpful, if I had a question she would answer my email as soon as she could - this helped with a lot of the organising that I did, from booking a hot tub to arranging to meet the Alpacas!!!
When we arrived Wendy was there to greet us and showed us around the barn - which was absolutely STUNNING, (the pictures do not do it it justice). The standard of the interior is above 5 star. The rooms were squeaky clean and the beds and bedding were so comfy. We were all blown away at how beautiful the barn was and the scenery is just breathtaking. On the Friday when we arrived we had a fab time in the barn and the grounds where we played party games and chilled in the hot tub that we ordered from an outside company - you really don't need a night out when you stay here as it is so nice to live like queens when you are here!
On the Saturday we hired a little mini bus to take us to an Outdoor Pursuits centre called Holmdale about 30 mins away where we all did clay pigeon shooting and sheep herding - this was so much fun and I recommend this to any group looking for a fun activity to do!
After the activities we couldn't wait to get back to the barn to chill for the rest of the day and evening - even Dominoes made a delivery to us (we just had to call them instead of order on line).
On the Sunday we had the best experience of the weekend where Wendy and her husband Joe took us to meet the Alpacas - we got to go into their barn, pet and feed them - it was amazing. All the girls loved this - and they are the cutest animals ever - we all wanted to take them home.
On the Sunday afternoon before heading home we got a fab Caterer in who cooked us the most amazing Sunday Roast with all the trimmings. The perfect end to a Magical weekend.
I can't recommend Sim Gill Farm enough - we are already planning our next trip back. Wendy and Joe are lovely and so welcoming - and I definitely recommend going to meet the Alpacas. We won't be forgetting the trip in a hurry.
Thank you so much - you helped give our beautiful a fab send off!! Jules xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Hi Jules, It was a pleasure having you stay and thank you for the kind words. Look forward to seeing you in the future. Wendy & Joe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham B
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is excellent accommodation.”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Twelve members of our family, including young grandchildren, stayed for 4 nights in this superb barn conversion. It was clear that no expense had been spared in setting up and equipping the house. Our hosts, Joe and Wendy, took the time and patience to allow us to visit the alpacas. The location is handy for Kendal and the various attractions of the Lake District.. It is easily accessed from the M6 motorway. We have every intention of making further visits in the future and have no hesitation in recommending Simgill to anyone interested in the countryside and the Lakes District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the accommodation
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review we much appreciate you taking the time out to write one. Glad you all enjoyed yourselves and our alpacas and we hope to see you again in the future. Wendy & Joe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne F
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just returned from a weekend stay at Gill Side Barn for a friends surprise 50th Birthday.... Stunning !!!! this place is a hidden gem. From the moment we walked through the door to breakfast on the decking the morning we left was top class.... beautiful rooms decorated with style spotlessly clean, the largest dining table ever seen perfect for all to sit and enjoy food and laughs. Breathtaking views from all angles, and the highlight of being able to feed the wonderful alpacas led to an exceptional experience. The family that own the property are so passionate about their place they were so friendly and made us feel so welcome, the daughter gave us fresh duck eggs for breakfast which were the best we'd tasted ... a lovely touch. We all had an amazing time Thank you so much we hope to return in the future. Best wishes for the Wedding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, we are always happy to hear guests enjoy our accommodation, the scenery and of course in our view our wonderful alpacas. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah m
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue, beautiful surroundings, lovely owners.”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have just returned from a hen do at Gill Side Barn. I can't fault anything, what an amazing stay we all had at this beautiful cottage. The decor is beautiful and Wendy and Joe couldn't have been more of a help to us. We loved our trip to feed the alpacas on the Saturday morning, which was a new experience for many of our groups 'love' of animals. We will definitely stay again. With just a 10 minute drive into Kendal it is so convenient for any style of stay. Highly recommended!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
1 review
“So good we booked immediately that we returned home!”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I came with a group of 17 ladies to Gill Side (Part of Simgill farm) for my Hen do on 26-28 Feb. The accommodation is luxurious, spacious and well presented with every care taken to the finish. The accommodation is well equipped with everything you can think of! Plenty of shower rooms to accommodate the party and a lounge large enough for all! Outside benched area overlooking superb views and plenty of parking space available. The owners were extremely friendly and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble! The Alpaca experiences was greatly received by the group. the area was easy accessible from the m6 and was in a stunning area of natural beauty. I cant wait to come back next year for my 40th!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, look forward to seeing you again next year. Wendy & Joe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mag123
n wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First class property”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just stayed here for a Hen weekendFeb 26/27 the barn is very spacious and comfortable, it was spotlessly clean and well equipped .the owners Joe and Wendy are friendly and helpful and the Alpaca encounter was fabulous it made my weekend ❤️. The barn was easy to find and although the lane is a tiny bit hairy to negotiate at times we had no-trouble getting there in the dark. All in all I 100% recommend this place and hope to return sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Hope to see you again in the future. Wendy & Joe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sholay68
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful property”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Lovely place for a relaxed family holiday over Christmas/New Year period. Accommodation was of a very high standard. Very clean. Large kitchen. Lovely decent sized bedrooms. Owners very friendly and the children enjoyed feeding the Alpacas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in the country
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;