We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay with lovely people”
Review of Sonata Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sonata Guest House
Ranked #4 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed for one night to attend a friend's birthday celebrations. I couldn't have received a warmer welcome from genuinely warm and hospitable hosts. They even moved their car so I could park close to the property! The property is a very attractive old traditional building and the room was immaculate with lovely toiletries supplied in the bathroom. Town centre is easily accessible - only a 5-minute walk away. Breakfast was excellent and of epic proportions so make sure you are hungry! All in all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Sonata to anyone seeking comfort and quality at a good price.

Room Tip: My only note of caution is that if, like me, you are not used to a bit of traffic noise either remem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon_McG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We are so grateful for your review and its lovely that you would recommend us. We have a program of room refurbishment with the intention of becoming the best contemporary B&B in Kendal and till this is completed we are providing - as a result of your review, guest in your room with ear plugs in case they need. We do try - Inoka and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We only stayed one night while on business but everything was fantastic and great value. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. The room was nicely appointed and very clean and the breakfast was superb. What more could you ask for?! We wish the owners the best of luck for the future and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulwith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you so much for your recommendation. It means a lot to us. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Kendal. Inoka and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed in a twin room on NYE as a last minute booking and was over whelmed by our stay at the Sonata. We was greeted by the friendliest of faces and nothing was too much trouble making this a real home from home visit.
The room was immaculate and warm, mince pies and mulled wine was brought to our room shortly after arrival and we instantly felt relaxed and happy with our guest house choice.
The breakfast was truly excellent and there is clearly no expense spared with the quality crockery and table furnishings.
Absolutely delighted with our stay, couldn't recommend enough, well done Sonata!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangachops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

So glad you enjoyed the minced pies and mulled wine! So happy you mentioned the improvements to the dining area. We continue to make further improvements to make guests stay as comfortable as possible, whilst maintaining the lovely character of the property. Your recommendation means a lot to us. Thanks Inoka and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed at Sonata Guest House for only one night as we were going to a concert in the town. We spent the afternoon in the town just as it was getting in the Christmas spirit, had a lovely evening meal pre concert at a French restaurant, "dejavu"' very close to Guest House which I would recommend. Our welcome at Sonata was warm and friendly. Our hosts showed genuine interest in our activities for the day and were very helpful with recommendations, street maps etc. Bedroom was very comfortable and clean and after a very restful night, we enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the morning, freshly cooked to order. Street parking was limited because of the central location, but a permit was provided by the Guest House which was great. Would definitely stay again when in the area and I know that the owners are planning further improvements having only taken over the Guest House earlier this year. Our thanks for a short but very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again - the Brewery Arts Centre has lots going on. In fact we got tickets to see Omid Djalili the comedian later this year. We are fortunate to have the Deja Vu restaurant close to us - there is also a lovely Thai and Indian nearby. Hope to see you again when next in Kendal. Thanks Inoka and Chris Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Sonata is a lovely place to stay. It is very near to the centre of Kendal which is really convenient. You are made to feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble such as having fresh milk in the room for tea and coffee. We had a front room which was very nice, clean and comfortable but a bit noisy in the morning due to the traffic outside. We have stayed in a back bedroom which was totally quiet. The breakfast was superb, with a lot of choice, all fresh and local, and cooked beautifully.I would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and for recommending us. We wish you a happy New Year and hope to see you again, perhaps for next years Kendal Mountain Festival. Inoka & Chris Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our host met us on arrival and was very welcoming, with good knowledge of the local area and transport links. We had a twin room (as our booking was last minute) but it was very clean and well presented with a spacious shower room. Breakfast was superb and exactly what we needed before an epic hike around the district. The guest house is well situated such that it is close to the town centre but neatly tucked away at one end, such that street noise is minimal. There is also a very comfy communal sitting room and lots of information about the local area. Would definitely stay here again on a return trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Si D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Kendal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here for one night with my girlfriend after camping in the lake district for 4 days. We both found Sonata Guest House to be very attentive, warm welcoming and generally interested in us as people and what we had planned during our stay. Although being relatively new to the area they had some suggestions of where we should eat. I got the impression the longer they remained in the area the more their local knowledge would grow. The room itself was very clean, comfortable and the shower was good. I'd definitely stay here again just for the breakfast, my girlfriend raved about the fresh mango, the delicious scrambled egg and I was extremely happy with my sausages. There's no doubt i'd recommend this place or even stay here again myself. Kendal is a very nice place and you'll be taken good care of by staying in this guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,115 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
3.2 mi away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Underbarrow
49 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Glen Guest House
The Glen Guest House
#3 of 42 in Kendal
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonata Guest House

Address: 19 Burneside Road, Kendal LA9 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: £72 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonata Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonata Guest House offers outstanding 4 Star B&B accommodation in the heart of Kendal in the South Lakes. We're a Visit England Breakfast award-winning B&B just a 5 minutes walk from Kendal's great choice of specialist shops, cafes, restaurants and the famous Brewery Arts Centre. Browse our reviews on TripAdvisor - we're a Certificate of Excellence award-winner. Local bus and rail links are just a short stroll from the B&B and the Lake District National Park border is just a 3 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Sonata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonata Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing