We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless, perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonata Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sonata Guest House
Ranked #3 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Faultless, perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The landlady is the perfect hostess, the room is way beyond what you get in a normal B and B .
Made to feel welcome and the best breakfast I've had in a long while.

I would highly recommend staying here over the hotels in the Kendal area. I've stayed in most over the years and this by far is head and shoulders over the others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danio1234567123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Terry,
Thank you for taking the time to write. We do try to provide a nicer and more personal experience – an antidote to the uniformity of chain hotels! When you’re next in Kendal, we would love to see you again.
Best Wishes
Inoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
104
17
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was the first time that I had stayed in the Sonata and I was most impressed with every aspect of my stay. From the moment I booked I was made welcome with handy hints on how best to get to the B&B from the Oxenholm railway station. Inoka and Chris went out their way to ensure that I was looked after and offered valuable advice on where to go and what to do during my visit.
The facilities in the room were excellent, plenty of choice with different types of tea. There was also coffee and hot choclate with biscuits and fresh bottled water. The breakfast food was outstanding, I can honestly say that the food is of a very high standard here, cooked exactly as you like it, the Full English I can highly recommend. Plenty of tea, coffee, toast, cerals, fresh juice, fruit and yogurts. The whole facility is spotlessly clean and tidy too.
All in all I was made to feel very welcome and it was a pleasure to stay here. I thoughly enjoyed my holiday in Cumbria and it was made extra special using Sonata. I would most sincerely recommend this B&B you will not be disappointed - well done Inoka and Chris, I salute you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank timgarrett090567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Tim

Thank you for your review - it means so much to us. So happy you liked the breakfast, cleanliness and noticed the little things that make a difference. I hope your photographs came out well? I myself bought a DSLR to take when next walking in the Lakes. The area is so beautiful, we are lucky - the Dales to the other side. We would love to see you again, if coming back to the Lakes – its sunny now!

Best Wishes
Inoka & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

It is obvious from the moment you step through the front door, care and attention to detail were paramount in the owner's minds. What they have managed to achieve in a Victorian mid-terrace property is an excellent example of what can be done if you set your mind to it. The hosts were friendly, sociable and addressed everyone by name. The furniture has been selected with care for the rooms, although the rooms are small, they are well appointed. The generous courtesy tray befits a 4 star establishment- fresh flowers and new bottled water provided each day.
The breakfast bar is stacked with a wide variety of fresh fruit, not-from-concentrate juice, cereals. You are welcome to take some fruit for the day! I recommend the Scrambled Salmon and Egg for breakfast. There were some lovely toiletries provided in the bathroom. We can not fault this place and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank philip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Philip,
We do try to provide a nicer experience here. Thank you for appreciating the details and taking the time to write. Hope to see you if coming again to Kendal.
Best Wishes
Inoka & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

A very welcome and welcoming stopover on out way south from Aberdeenshire. A feast of a breakfast, well presented, along with Inoka and Chris's friendly service. Would not hesitate to recommend this comfortable guest house to anyone.

Sheila & Pete

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are so glad your daughter found us online and recommended to you. Thank you so much for your own recommendation! We are always so grateful to guests for taking the time to write. Inoka & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Have stayed in the Sonata many times before under the previous management and am pleased to say there have been numerous positive changes. New personnel are very professional, welcoming and very friendly. Some minor changes have had significant effects; fresh flowers in the rooms, new toiletries in bathroom, new table linens and crockery, new decor downstairs and am really looking forward to the refurbishment in the bedrooms. We regularly travel to Kendal and will definitely stay at the Sonata again. Breakfast always has been good but now it is exceptional and Chris and his wife cannot do enough for their guests. Would definitely recommend this boarding house to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
So grateful you noticed the positive changes and we cannot be happier, that a repeat guest recommends us, nothing better! Thank you so much, Inoka & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed for one night to attend a friend's birthday celebrations. I couldn't have received a warmer welcome from genuinely warm and hospitable hosts. They even moved their car so I could park close to the property! The property is a very attractive old traditional building and the room was immaculate with lovely toiletries supplied in the bathroom. Town centre is easily accessible - only a 5-minute walk away. Breakfast was excellent and of epic proportions so make sure you are hungry! All in all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Sonata to anyone seeking comfort and quality at a good price.

Room Tip: My only note of caution is that if, like me, you are not used to a bit of traffic noise either remem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon_McG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are so grateful for your review and its lovely that you would recommend us. We have a program of room refurbishment with the intention of becoming the best contemporary B&B in Kendal and till this is completed we are providing - as a result of your review, guest in your room with ear plugs in case they need. We do try - Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abersoch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We only stayed one night while on business but everything was fantastic and great value. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. The room was nicely appointed and very clean and the breakfast was superb. What more could you ask for?! We wish the owners the best of luck for the future and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paulwith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendation. It means a lot to us. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Kendal. Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.3 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#12 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonata Guest House

Property: Sonata Guest House
Address: 19 Burneside Road, Kendal LA9 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonata Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonata Guest House offers outstanding 4 Star B&B accommodation in the heart of Kendal in the South Lakes. We're a Visit England Breakfast award-winning B&B just a 5 minutes walk from Kendal's great choice of specialist shops, cafes, restaurants and the famous Brewery Arts Centre. Browse our reviews on TripAdvisor - we're a Certificate of Excellence award-winner. Local bus and rail links are just a short stroll from the B&B and the Lake District National Park border is just a 3 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sonata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonata Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing