We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem!”
Review of Sonata Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sonata Guest House
Ranked #3 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We came to Kendal to watch a gig at Bootleggers Bar. Having never been we did not know what to expect. I booked Sonata on booking.com and am so glad I found it. On arrival we were greeting with a warm friendly smile and given a parking permit to put on our car enabling us to park close by on the street. We left our bags in the hall and then went to park the car. When returning we found our bags had already been taken to the room and we were given lots of info and maps etc about the area and restaurants. They had lots of local info and leaflets (I like that!). We were shown the lovely relaxing front room with papers and fruit that we could take etc then was taken to our room on the top floor. The room was newly refurbished and beautiful but it was the attention to detail that struck me!! We were asked what time we required breakfast? (Offering to go out of her way too as my hubby joked..very late) and she offered to make fresh coffee. We could see that the host tray was more than ample with also herbal and fruit teas biscuits and bottles of water so we kindly declined but what a nice suggestion. Everything in the room seemed excellent expensive quality..from the cups to the bath products. There were robes and slippers, the most brilliant basket of goodies in the bathroom and even a DAB radio. Honestly, I felt like I was in a high quality hotel. There was a stand alone fan and fabulous mirrors in the bathroom for doing my makeup. The walk into the centre of kendal was about 10 mins if that... perfect location and we found the recommended restaurants and bootleggers with ease!! After a brill night, and a good sleep in a comfy bed we went down for a late breakfast.... WOW!!!! REALLY SPECIAL!!! Presentation was beautiful (even though my hubby was having a joke about the green bits...fresh herbs!) And there was so much choice with fruit (loved the apricots) cereals, juices and lots more! Extra toast was offered and there were lovely jams etc. The crockery was high standard too (I notice these things!) There were newspapers too!! Even though we went down late I didn't feel rushed at all. We were allowed to keep the permit on the car whilst we walked back to kendal centre to do a bit of shopping and we posted it back through the door as we left. This B&B is a special treat and the hosts are kind, funny, warm hearted, caring, attentive and offer the perfect relaxing stay! Their attention to detail is amaxing and I really cannot wait to return!!! Thank you x

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yummymummy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
109
17
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Have just returned home after a 2 night stay at Sonata Guest House. We were welcomed by the owner who was very friendly and assisted us with advice about getting around Kendal and also information for getting bus transport for the Central Lakes area which we needed for the next day. We were given a local map and booklet showing all the bus time tables and prices.

Our room was on the upper floor and it was very comfortable with a large bathroom. We were very pleased with the complimentary items which were of a very high quality and where even provided with slippers and robes.

Ample tea and coffee making facilities where in the room and this even included bottles of mineral water.

The breakfast was the best I have had in a B&B, great variety and included vegetarian options.

We felt very much at home here at Sonata and appreciated the attention to detail and care taken by the owners.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cairowendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for this review.

It’s good to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Lakes and delighted you say the breakfast is the best you have had in a B&B – In fact I remember on the second day you came for breakfast early saying that you wanted to savour the breakfast experience at your leisure.

Next week new carpets are going down in the room you stayed in, as part of the continued improvements. We hope you come again to the Lakes and choose to stay at the Sonata.

Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Very impressive room - had been very recently refurbed, and it looked like they were doing the rest of the rooms too. Nice bathroom.
Breakfast was plentiful - both cooked and non-cooked options.
Owners were very helpful and nice company, and always had a smile on their faces.
Very good location to get into centre of town and away to other villages.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for this review.

We are happy you like the second night free upgraded room.

We are also trying to provide extra touches and a quality breakfast whilst keeping competitive prices for the area.

Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for two nights to see a concert in the Brewery and a drive around the lakes as a 50th birthday treat. Lovely clean room, very helpful hosts and unbelievable choice of breakfast. I wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for this review.

It was a delight to meet you both and glad you liked your stay.

Please do come again, perhaps for a long weekend as you said. There is a lot going on in Kendal with festivals, music venues, shops and restaurants – we now have a ‘Things to do in Kendal’ page on our website.

Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights in April and was highly impressed, on our journey we ran through the items we had forgotten, toothpaste, razor, shaving foam! So on arrival we had planned to drop our bags and set off to boots to shop! But we greatly thankful for the complimentary items in the bathroom which included everything we had forgotten! Attention to detail was 100% and the breakfast was the best we've had. We even got a little treat from the Easter bunny on Sunday. The hosts are fantastic and we wish them well in living their dream. Thank you for a perfect stay. (brilliant location to!)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We do try to offer a more personal and nicer experience and it’s nice that you appreciated the small things. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review. Look forward to seeing you again, if ever in Kendal.
Best Wishes, Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room, ideal location, lovely breakfast and very nice hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. A lovely peaceful sleep in a very modern and clean ensuite room.

Thanks for a making our brief stay enjoyable, will definitely return. (And thanks for the jelly beans).

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CRWilliams75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Williams, We are happy you chose to stay with us, and also for taking the time to write about our service, breakfast and location - also our upgraded room. We do try to provide a nicer experience and would love to see you again when you return to Kendal. Best Wishes, Inoka & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The landlady is the perfect hostess, the room is way beyond what you get in a normal B and B .
Made to feel welcome and the best breakfast I've had in a long while.

I would highly recommend staying here over the hotels in the Kendal area. I've stayed in most over the years and this by far is head and shoulders over the others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danio1234567123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Terry,
Thank you for taking the time to write. We do try to provide a nicer and more personal experience – an antidote to the uniformity of chain hotels! When you’re next in Kendal, we would love to see you again.
Best Wishes
Inoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.4 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#12 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonata Guest House

Property: Sonata Guest House
Address: 19 Burneside Road, Kendal LA9 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonata Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonata Guest House offers outstanding 4 Star B&B accommodation in the heart of Kendal in the South Lakes. We're a Visit England Breakfast award-winning B&B just a 5 minutes walk from Kendal's great choice of specialist shops, cafes, restaurants and the famous Brewery Arts Centre. Browse our reviews on TripAdvisor - we're a Certificate of Excellence award-winner. Local bus and rail links are just a short stroll from the B&B and the Lake District National Park border is just a 3 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sonata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonata Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing