We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sonata sets the standards others would like to reach!”
Review of Sonata Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonata Guest House
Ranked #3 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sonata sets the standards others would like to reach!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for only one night back in May, wish I could have spent longer. From beginning to end, everything is thought of and offered with such graceful charm. A space was kept for me outside their premises to park with parking permit provided. That evening I drove to Windermere and Ambleside & when I got back, Inoka made me a lovely pot of coffee with biscuits & we sat and had a long chat. They have only had this Guesthouse for one year and have done wonders with it, raising the standards and making it a favourite with so many guests. This is reflected in their rating on Trip Advisor of 100% "Thumbs up" and a big Congratulations to them for receiving the Certificate of Excellence, which I believe I read somewhere only goes to 10% of listings on TA.

The rooms are excellently well appointed, with a carefully thought about guest's tray with choices of tea, coffee, water, etc, etc.. In the bathroom another basket with guests 'goodies'. The toiletries & towels are of exceptional quality and the inclusion of bath robes is something you only expect in 5 star hotels. I stayed on the 1st floor and while it was a street facing room, I had no trouble as there was very little traffic and it certainly didn't bother me.

Breakfast at Sonata is a most incredible experience, you get the 'works'. Fresh fruits, cut and whole, beautifully displayed, several cereals with hot or cold milk, top quality fruit juices, choice of brown or white bread (you can have both) and then the menu offers a wonderful choice of delicious home-cooked breakfasts so I chose bacon, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, hash brown and baked beans. This all followed with, toast and choice of Wilkins "Tiptree" preserves (again, the finest quality) and tea or fresh cafetiere coffee. Believe me, this truly sets you up to keep you going all day, which it did for me as I drove to South Wales.

It is so true when I say they set the standards so high, it leaves many other establishments wishing they could reach this level.

Without hesitation, I recommend Sonata to anyone travelling in the Lake District. I will most definitely be back in the not too distant future to enjoy more of your high class hospitality. Thank you Inoka and hubby, a wonderful stay, just not long enough....I'll be back!

Room Tip: As they only have 4 bedrooms, book well in advance not to be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlabouttown_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Yes we were extremely pleased with the Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor in both 2013 and again 2014. We also have the only VisitEngland Breakfast Award within a mile of Kendal Town.

It was nice of you to give tips on our rooms. Having a luxury award winning hotel yourself, it was appreciated – nothing is worth more than good advice.

We always take on-board guest ideas and have already done some things you suggested for the rooms (I will send you pictures with changes). We hope to get the balance right between the friendly and flexible service of a B&B and the modern comforts and standards expected from a decent hotel.

We would be so happy to see you again,

Best Wishes
Inoka & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
110
17
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed for one night whilst working in the area. The owners welcomed me immediately on arrival and had already reserved a parking space. Accommodation was clean and tidy. I felt looked after and despite only wanting some toast for breakfast the owners then wanted to make me a packed lunch. I found them to be so hospitable and would recommend staying here. They give a very personal and attentive service. I would stay again when next in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are so happy you would stay here again, if in Kendal. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We do try to be flexible with breakfast timings, especially for people on business and it would have been no trouble at all to prepare you a complimentary packed lunch if you had wanted, since you did not have our cooked breakfast. We very much, look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having lived in this house from 1974 to 1986 when we started this guest house. In 1974 the present owners have transformed this place into a 5 star excellent guest house. Far better than some 5 star hotels we have stayed in. Chris and your beautiful wife carry on the way you are. Best Wishes Harry @ Nina Wiggan

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
It was such a nice surprise to get a call from you, never having met before. It’s always good to meet previous owners – you said such a lot has changed since you ran it in the 70’s. We took over the guesthouse last year 2013 and grateful for your positive review. B&B’s can and do provide nicer stays than many hotels and we hope the Sonata continues to improve over the next 40 years! Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again when next in Kendal.
Best Wishes to you both
Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at The Sonata when we were spending a long weekend in the Lake District. What a lovely place. Our hosts made us feel like special guests. The breakfast menu was lovely and the food cooked to a consistently high standard.
We were very happy with our room which was beautifully presented and had a lot of nice touches that added to our comfort. Inoka and Chris are very special hosts and we left with the impression that we had made new friends.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room and we were happy with it. Inoka said that thie room will be refurbished in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank And Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for writing this review, it means a lot to us. We hope to see you again when your next in Kendal. There’s a lot going on and some lovely restaurants and shops and the Saturday market you went to has been going for over 800 years, started with a licence given by Richard I, desperate for money to fund his Crusades!

We look forward to seeing you both again.
Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Fairy, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

In our travels through Scotland and the Lake District we saved the best accommodation until last. Inoka and Chris were wonderful hosts, the accommodation was clean and very comfortable and the breakfast was fresh, beautifully cooked and plentiful. The highlight, however, were all the special little touches that our hosts so thoughtfully supplied.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G1667BUMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
You must have stayed at some lovely places in the UK, Scotland and the Lakes – so being the last and best is truly fantastic news for us. So delighted to have been able to give you all a good end to your travels, and we hope you have many happy memories of your 6 weeks in the UK. It’s so often the little things that make a stay nicer and we are so happy you appreciated them. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had an overnight stay here recently and had a wonderful experience. Inoka and Chris were the perfect hosts and very welcoming. The accommodation was spacious and comfortable and everywhere was very clean. The highlight, however, was the full english breakfast which was delicious. Unfortunately, we couldn't stay longer but will be planning a return trip in the very near future.

James O'Neill

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are glad you picked the Sonata in Kendal to stay, although you had things to do in Sedberg, which is half and hour away. Kendal has lots going on and we would be delighted to see you both again. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Sonata with Inoka and Chris at weekend and I was so pleased we found them
The Sonata is beautiful your every need was taken care of right down to earplugs ! The Sonata is scrupulously clean and comfortable the food is superb the selection is extensive prepared and served exactly as requested
Inoka and Chris are lovely caring people and we would love to stay there again highly recommend a visit if you ever go to stay in Kendal

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dilili_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We do try to take care of the small things that makes it a nicer stay for guests. So happy you liked our breakfast and look forward to seeing you both again, when in Kendal.
Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
672 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
501 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonata Guest House

Property: Sonata Guest House
Address: 19 Burneside Road, Kendal LA9 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonata Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonata Guest House offers outstanding 4 Star B&B accommodation in the heart of Kendal in the South Lakes. We're a Visit England Breakfast award-winning B&B just a 5 minutes walk from Kendal's great choice of specialist shops, cafes, restaurants and the famous Brewery Arts Centre. Browse our reviews on TripAdvisor - we're a Certificate of Excellence award-winner. Local bus and rail links are just a short stroll from the B&B and the Lake District National Park border is just a 3 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sonata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonata Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing