We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome to a lovely town.”
Review of Sonata Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sonata Guest House
Ranked #3 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A warm welcome to a lovely town.”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The owner was very welcoming and helpful. Dining room and lounge are clean and tidy with an excellent breakfast.
Our room was clean and tidy but space a little limited, but this is a guest house not a hotel.
The only downside is lack of parking. On the upside the town centre is 2 mins away on foot.
Kendal is a lovely town and a great centre for enjoying the lake district.
Overall a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank grumpsdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review

We have re-furnished the dining area. There is a continued program of improvements to give guests a nicer experience. Whilst some of the budget chains may have larger rooms, the selection of quality toiletries and hospitality tray items which your wife commented favourably upon and other such small touches is often lacking.

We want our guests to wake up happy and sadly in some (certainly not all) budget hotels, it’s depressing. We try to provide extra items whilst maintaining competitive pricing for the area. We love the friendly and flexible approach of B&B’s and although it’s not for everyone, many guests do appreciate flexible breakfast times for example which you certainly would not find in all budget chains.

As for parking, we have 24/7 on-street permits for all rooms. If you had asked us before booking we would have confirmed that it’s on-street, and our website is also very clear on this point. We also mention this on our booking confirmation emailed to you.

However since you came by motorbike and did not want to park on-street we guided you to an alternative off-street location within walking distance which we hope was helpful and allayed any worries.

Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
111
17
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a lovely time here. We checked in with my wife and 2 teenage daughters. Inoka and Chris couldn't have been sweeter or more helpful. They are professional hoteliers who are starting a B&B with the hope of differentiating themselves through great customer service.

We parked just in front of the hotel. The rooms for clean and comfortable. We walked down to the town center and shopped, had dinner, and wondered through Kendal. It was a delightful stay. We will certainly come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
Yes I love the flexibility and friendliness of a B&B, but coming from a luxury hotel background – I wanted a little of the hotel comforts and standards too. I am so happy you liked your stay and took the time to write a review.
I would love to see you all again, when next in Kendal
Best Wishes
Inoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Inoka and Chris are delightful, friendly hosts who are happy to assist you at all times which reflects in the standard of their bed and breakfast. Our room was exceptionally clean and provided all the extras that you would expect from a hotel. An additional bonus was a pass to a local spa, which we took full advantage of on a rainy day. The breakfast menu was varied and of an extremely high standard – the salmon and scrambled eggs were gorgeous. There is fresh fruit, juices, water and a local tea and coffee available as well as cereals. I have to have a gluten free diet and there was gluten free bread and soya milk available also. In all this is an excellent B&B and we would most certainly be using it again and recommending it to our friends and family visiting Kendal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julitwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for the review and for recommending us to friends and family. Most of all thank you for booking all our rooms for the same period, next year!
We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montriond, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The owners went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.. Went out and bought little extras for my son when they heard what he likes. Great breakfast choices to start your day and lovely location..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaletflori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
You must be so busy running your own Chalet business in France so really appreciate that you took the time to write a review for us. We hope to see you again late this year.

Best Wishes
Chris & Inoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very friendly and helpful people.
Lovely clean rooms, linen etc with some really thoughtful and caring touches that make it that bit more special.
The standard is very high and deserving of the 4 star rating.
Loved our stay, great choice
Pass to use a nearby hotel spa was a godsend when it poured down!
Would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review and glad you appreciated the little touches – yes we do try to give a nicer experience, combining the friendly and flexible B&B with some modern hotel comforts and standards. We thought the Spa passes would be appreciated, since in the Lakes, it’s been known to rain!

Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

had a smashing stay would recommend it to everyone wish we could have stayed longer hope to go again the bed was lovely clean & comfy plenty of hot water soft towels soaps & smellys! breakfast was brilliant all you needed for the day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank anita g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review and we do hope, you come again to stay longer. There are plenty of events, shops and restaurants (we especially like Infusion!) in town all within a 5 minute walk.

Best Wishes
Inoka & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for only one night back in May, wish I could have spent longer. From beginning to end, everything is thought of and offered with such graceful charm. A space was kept for me outside their premises to park with parking permit provided. That evening I drove to Windermere and Ambleside & when I got back, Inoka made me a lovely pot of coffee with biscuits & we sat and had a long chat. They have only had this Guesthouse for one year and have done wonders with it, raising the standards and making it a favourite with so many guests. This is reflected in their rating on Trip Advisor of 100% "Thumbs up" and a big Congratulations to them for receiving the Certificate of Excellence, which I believe I read somewhere only goes to 10% of listings on TA.

The rooms are excellently well appointed, with a carefully thought about guest's tray with choices of tea, coffee, water, etc, etc.. In the bathroom another basket with guests 'goodies'. The toiletries & towels are of exceptional quality and the inclusion of bath robes is something you only expect in 5 star hotels. I stayed on the 1st floor and while it was a street facing room, I had no trouble as there was very little traffic and it certainly didn't bother me.

Breakfast at Sonata is a most incredible experience, you get the 'works'. Fresh fruits, cut and whole, beautifully displayed, several cereals with hot or cold milk, top quality fruit juices, choice of brown or white bread (you can have both) and then the menu offers a wonderful choice of delicious home-cooked breakfasts so I chose bacon, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, hash brown and baked beans. This all followed with, toast and choice of Wilkins "Tiptree" preserves (again, the finest quality) and tea or fresh cafetiere coffee. Believe me, this truly sets you up to keep you going all day, which it did for me as I drove to South Wales.

It is so true when I say they set the standards so high, it leaves many other establishments wishing they could reach this level.

Without hesitation, I recommend Sonata to anyone travelling in the Lake District. I will most definitely be back in the not too distant future to enjoy more of your high class hospitality. Thank you Inoka and hubby, a wonderful stay, just not long enough....I'll be back!

Room Tip: As they only have 4 bedrooms, book well in advance not to be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlabouttown_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Yes we were extremely pleased with the Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor in both 2013 and again 2014. We also have the only VisitEngland Breakfast Award within a mile of Kendal Town.

It was nice of you to give tips on our rooms. Having a luxury award winning hotel yourself, it was appreciated – nothing is worth more than good advice.

We always take on-board guest ideas and have already done some things you suggested for the rooms (I will send you pictures with changes). We hope to get the balance right between the friendly and flexible service of a B&B and the modern comforts and standards expected from a decent hotel.

We would be so happy to see you again,

Best Wishes
Inoka & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,033 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kendal
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonata Guest House

Property: Sonata Guest House
Address: 19 Burneside Road, Kendal LA9 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonata Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonata Guest House offers outstanding 4 Star B&B accommodation in the heart of Kendal in the South Lakes. We're a Visit England Breakfast award-winning B&B just a 5 minutes walk from Kendal's great choice of specialist shops, cafes, restaurants and the famous Brewery Arts Centre. Browse our reviews on TripAdvisor - we're a Certificate of Excellence award-winner. Local bus and rail links are just a short stroll from the B&B and the Lake District National Park border is just a 3 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sonata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonata Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing