We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely guest house”
Review of Sonata Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sonata Guest House
Ranked #4 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I found this to be a lovely guest house. I was made very welcome and I shall stay there every time I visit the town. The lovely owners provided a great room and fabulous breakfast. I made a very good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for writing this review and delighted you will stay with us when you come to Kendal.

As you know the town, it has lots shops, restaurants and pubs – the Oddfellows Arms nearby has a lot of local characters. There’s something to suit everyone and guests say the best thing about the town is the friendly people and spirit.

Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Sonata Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

landlord extremely nice and bike friendly
room extremely clean and high standard
gym included in price

in two words - highly recommended

especially if you are a cyclist as the is bike facilities available as well :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Krzysztof C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Yes we get a lot of cyclists staying whilst doing the Land's End to John o' Groats and other cycle routes.

Also lots of people coming for work and training, bring their cycles to keep securely at our Guest house and are then able to make the most of their spare time, to cycle in the Lakes.

We are happy you had time (albeit very early morning!) to cycle in the Lakes.

Thank you for taking the time to write us this review and for recommending us.
We hope to see you again, when next coming to Kendal town.

Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Despite arriving very early at the guest house we were given a warm welcome, tea and shortbread, and an upgraded room because our hosts hadn't had time to get ours ready. The room we had was luxuriously equipped,clean, comfortable, and with fantastic attention to detail.
There was a wide choice of breakfasts, and was beautifully cooked and presented, more like a hotel than a small guest house.
Our hosts were attentive without imposing on our privacy. We were given a parking permit on arrival and were able to park right by the house, and there was an excellent choice of eateries nearby to choose from for an evening meal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

So happy you liked our upgraded room and morning breakfast.

Coming from a luxury hotel background I try to blend positive aspects of the B&B with a little of the comforts and standards expected in a decent hotel. I want to give a personal and flexible service, without being intrusive and so happy you commented on this in your kind review.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write and I hope to see you again, when you next come for a walking holiday to the beautiful Lakes.

Best Wishes
Inoka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Friendly owners and comfortable B&B. Lots of delicious food to choose from for breakfast. You'll feel welcome and well looked after. And the B&B is easy walking distance from the train station and town centre.

Room Tip: Twin room at front on second floor has a bit of traffic noise but lovely view over the rooftops to t...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

Yes we are well located not far from town, bus and railway station – location maps are available on our website. So happy you liked our breakfast menu.

Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The owner was very welcoming and helpful. Dining room and lounge are clean and tidy with an excellent breakfast.
Our room was clean and tidy but space a little limited, but this is a guest house not a hotel.
The only downside is lack of parking. On the upside the town centre is 2 mins away on foot.
Kendal is a lovely town and a great centre for enjoying the lake district.
Overall a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank grumpsdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review

We have re-furnished the dining area. There is a continued program of improvements to give guests a nicer experience. Whilst some of the budget chains may have larger rooms, the selection of quality toiletries and hospitality tray items which your wife commented favourably upon and other such small touches is often lacking.

We want our guests to wake up happy and sadly in some (certainly not all) budget hotels, it’s depressing. We try to provide extra items whilst maintaining competitive pricing for the area. We love the friendly and flexible approach of B&B’s and although it’s not for everyone, many guests do appreciate flexible breakfast times for example which you certainly would not find in all budget chains.

As for parking, we have 24/7 on-street permits for all rooms. If you had asked us before booking we would have confirmed that it’s on-street, and our website is also very clear on this point. We also mention this on our booking confirmation emailed to you.

However since you came by motorbike and did not want to park on-street we guided you to an alternative off-street location within walking distance which we hope was helpful and allayed any worries.

Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a lovely time here. We checked in with my wife and 2 teenage daughters. Inoka and Chris couldn't have been sweeter or more helpful. They are professional hoteliers who are starting a B&B with the hope of differentiating themselves through great customer service.

We parked just in front of the hotel. The rooms for clean and comfortable. We walked down to the town center and shopped, had dinner, and wondered through Kendal. It was a delightful stay. We will certainly come again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review.
Yes I love the flexibility and friendliness of a B&B, but coming from a luxury hotel background – I wanted a little of the hotel comforts and standards too. I am so happy you liked your stay and took the time to write a review.
I would love to see you all again, when next in Kendal
Best Wishes
Inoka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Inoka and Chris are delightful, friendly hosts who are happy to assist you at all times which reflects in the standard of their bed and breakfast. Our room was exceptionally clean and provided all the extras that you would expect from a hotel. An additional bonus was a pass to a local spa, which we took full advantage of on a rainy day. The breakfast menu was varied and of an extremely high standard – the salmon and scrambled eggs were gorgeous. There is fresh fruit, juices, water and a local tea and coffee available as well as cereals. I have to have a gluten free diet and there was gluten free bread and soya milk available also. In all this is an excellent B&B and we would most certainly be using it again and recommending it to our friends and family visiting Kendal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julitwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for the review and for recommending us to friends and family. Most of all thank you for booking all our rooms for the same period, next year!
We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Wishes
Inoka and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonata Guest House

Address: 19 Burneside Road, Kendal LA9 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: £71 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonata Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonata Guest House offers outstanding 4 Star B&B accommodation in the heart of Kendal in the South Lakes. We're a Visit England Breakfast award-winning B&B just a 5 minutes walk from Kendal's great choice of specialist shops, cafes, restaurants and the famous Brewery Arts Centre. Browse our reviews on TripAdvisor - we're a Certificate of Excellence award-winner. Local bus and rail links are just a short stroll from the B&B and the Lake District National Park border is just a 3 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sonata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonata Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing