We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Balcony House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Balcony House”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed for two nights in early November and had a lovely time. The hosts were very welcoming, the accomodation was excellent, very clean, warm, and well equipped. The breakfasts were delicious and very generous, the eggs were fresh from their own hens. We would highly recommend Balcony House and hope to return ourselves in the not too distant future. Anne and Chris, Berkshire.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
270
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed for 5 nights end of Oct, lovely welcome from Mandy and Brian. fantastic breakfast every morning and a nice warm homely place to relax. Being able to use the leisure facilities at the Riverside hotel was a nice bonus and only a 5 min walk away. i will most definitely be returning with my wife some time soon. Thank you both for your hospitality

Barry

Room Tip: The front room with the balcony is nice to sit out and have a coffee in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Just returned from a one night stay in Balcony House in Kendal, the Hosts were fantastic so welcoming even to take us to our venue the Stacey Kent Concert in Kendal, the breakfast was great like a 5 star Hotel & the rooms were spotless & everything was catered for we would definitley stay there on our return to Kendal !!
Regards Elaine & John & Howard & Angela ( Cumbria )

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beethoven1CumbriaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy N, Owner at Balcony House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
I do like to thank all my reviewers personally by email but there are a few whose email I didn't have.
I'd like to say we have had some lovely guests this year and hope you return to see us again in the future. Thanks for all the great comments. Mandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed at the Balcony House Oct 2012, I travel all round the UK and stay in verious hotels etc. This goes straight to the top as the best. The meet and greet by the owners. The decor and surroundings of the place makes you relax. The warm welcome and attention to your every needs.
The addition of being able to have use of the full leisure facilties close by was another bonus.
The scrumptious breakfast served was beyond expectation. Have since told all friends and family about it. Will be returning on a regular basis after this experience.
Much appreiciated for the warm welcome.
Jeff & Julie

Room Tip: No tips its all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North east England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed at the Balcony house for 2 night at the end of September and cannot reccomend this place highly enough. Mandy and Brian (as previously said) cannot do enough for you. Both nights we were there Brian ran us into town in his car (even though its only a 10 min walk), and even pointed out the best pubs. Our room was on the small size but adequate for our needs and immaculately clean. Plenty of tea, coffee, chocky bickies and toileteries. We borrowed Mandy's pass for the local spa and had a great steam, sauna and swim on Saturday morning all FOC.

Mandy had gone out of her way to accept our booking as originally Brian and her were going on holiday on our dates, but when she found out they would be at home Mandy emailled me to see if we were sorted. I know They were going on holiday this week and if they get half the service they themselves provide they will be well satisfied.

Hope you have/had a great holiday, you both deserve it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etherlycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I would highly recommend staying at the Balcony House. Me and my partner have just returned after having stayed for two nights and would loved to have stayed longer. We stayed in the four poster small room, the decorate was beautiful and there were lots of elegant touches which you would not find in most guest houses. Mandy and Brian go out of there way to make sure your stay is pleasant and ensure you have everything you need. They offered lifts into the town and were willing to telephone local bars to see if they had sky sports for the rugby. Lots of choice for breakfast and the food was cooked perfectly. Definitely will be going back!!!

Please ignore any "average" comments!!

Thank you Mandy and Brian.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelicAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Balcony House was an absolutely lovely place to stay. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Kendal and the Lakes. Mandy and Brian were so friendly and hospitable, and the room was perfect. Beautifully decorated and full of thoughtful details you don't normally see in a B&B - even bathrobes were provided. The entire place was spotlessly clean as well and breakfast was prepared to order by Mandy and so delicious. I also very much enjoyed the beautiful view from my room of the lovely back garden with the adorable ducks waddling to the door. I don't have a single complaint and would definitely stay again if ever in Kendal - thank you Mandy & Brian!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
412 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#1 of 42 in Kendal
272 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grizedale Lodge
Grizedale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Grizedale
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing