We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yorkie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yorkie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We have just had 1 night at the balcony with friends and can confirm that the hotel and owners provide fantastic value for money and a very welcomming environment.The room was everything and more than we needed and the breakfast was tasty,well presented and very filling!The Spa facilities at the nearby hotel were very good and very easy to access. Would not hesitate to use in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 701stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
256
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights whilst he was on a nearby training course, the owners are the some of the nicest people you could wish to meet, very friendly and they go out of their way to make your stay as pleasurable as possible, the guest house in general and the rooms are spotlessly clean, well kept and furnished to a high standard, the bed was very comfy and we had a great nights sleep, loved the selection of herbal teas, and the chocolates and biscuits in the room are a very nice touch ;-) the breakfast was delicious and plentiful, an added bonus is you get a pass to use the health club up the road with a lovely swimming pool and gym. All in all I don't think you could find a better place to stay in Kendal.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamsinandliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Thankyou for making us so welcome and thanks for driving us to the restaurant.
Lovely place, super comfy beds. Nice to have a selection of teas etc in the room. Everything that you might want is provided, right down to that bit of chocolate you crave at bedtime and the make-up removal wipes that you always forget to pack.
Great breakfast. Hope to see you both soon

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillyfloss1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Had a lovely over night stay, 11/11/12. Bedrooms beautiful, decor very homely. All toiletries thought of in large en-suite. Teas and coffee facilities with personal touches, Fantastic full English breakfast, with lots of alternative options. Very friendly and helpful , recommenced lots of restaurants in Kendal. Swimming and Spa facilities at Riverside Hotel was complimentary and was worth the effort to go.

Room Tip: Had a choice on arrival, difficult to choose which one as all lovley
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed at Balcony House for two night in November. It is a beautifully restored victorian house. Our room was fabulous, in fact the bed was so comfortable I was compelled to pull back the bedding and find out the make of the pillows and mattress cover- which I will be buying for my own house as they were so comfortable!!

We had two great nights sleep, the room was peaceful and had all you needed for a cosy night in. A great bed, TV (with DVD player- they provide DVDs) and hot drink making facilities ( which included fresh coffee, hot chocoate and teas & coffee). I mustn't forget the roses chocolates and kit kats which were relplaced daily- what a lovely thought.

The ensuite was great with a toilet and lovely shower. They had thought of everything the toiletries included shampoo, handwash, body lotion, face wipes, Dove soap, ladies sanitary products, body spray and a range of sewing kits. So practical !! Better still, two lovely dressing gowns to relax in!!

Which brings us to breakfast!! What can I say except my husband said it is the best he has ever had away from home!! (he had to say that). A fantastic choice of cereals was followed by the most impressive cooked breakfast which included lovely lancashire black pudding, local sausages, thick bacon, eggs from their own hens and thick toast and butter. The coffee was fresh and delicious!!

Brian and Mandy are amazing hosts- even dropping us into town on Saturday night and advising us on good walks and places to go.

This place is an absolute gem-Mandy and Brian should be proud of what they have achieved here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed for two nights in early November and had a lovely time. The hosts were very welcoming, the accomodation was excellent, very clean, warm, and well equipped. The breakfasts were delicious and very generous, the eggs were fresh from their own hens. We would highly recommend Balcony House and hope to return ourselves in the not too distant future. Anne and Chris, Berkshire.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed for 5 nights end of Oct, lovely welcome from Mandy and Brian. fantastic breakfast every morning and a nice warm homely place to relax. Being able to use the leisure facilities at the Riverside hotel was a nice bonus and only a 5 min walk away. i will most definitely be returning with my wife some time soon. Thank you both for your hospitality

Barry

Room Tip: The front room with the balcony is nice to sit out and have a coffee in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing