We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic b/b with lovely owners Brian. And Mandy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic b/b with lovely owners Brian. And Mandy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Once again we have stayed the weekend at balcony house and again a wonderful stay with superb rooms , breakfast to die for ,! Lovely people nothing too much trouble, Brian the owner is very informative re, the Lake District and Kendal and is sure to answer any question on trains buses and walks you may have.A pleasant stay and I look forward to our next visit.
Thanks Brian and Mandy for a lovely week-end

Brian and Doris.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy N, Owner at Balcony House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your review Brian and Doris. It was lovely to see you again. Can I thank all my guests for their reviews. Where possible I have emailed to thank personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
262
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay. The room was amazing and the bathroom was amazing. The breakfast is to die for and the people are so friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place to everyone who wants a prime location and prime service!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dav_Mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We have just had one night at the Balcony House B&B, well it was a fantastic stay, the room was decorated lovely, very clean, very cosy on such a cold weekend, everything you need hairdryer and robes to wear, the couple who ran the place were lovely and made us feel very welcome, and OMG what a fantastic cooked breakfast we were given, the best we have ever had at a B&B and we have stayed in a lot, definitely recommend and well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Warm welcome, spotlessly clean,great food, reasonable price. Great for business or leisure travellers alike. Ideal for holiday makers in south lakes and business guests in Kendal. Situated on a main road but it is still quiet. Comes with comlimentary discount for restaurant and leisure facilities at a local hotel. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: All rooms are great, take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We spent a night at the Balcony House last week. I can understnd why it is No1 on Trip Advisor. We received such a warm welcome, the location is within easy walking distance to the centre of town, but still the landlady drove us in, The room and appointments were excellent- as for the breakfast - you won't need luncht

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Me and my partner stayed here last night. When booking the room I asked if we could have a balloon and some chocolates on the bed as it was our anniversary, which mandy was very helpful with and said it was no problem. We arrived an hour earlier than we had stated but Mandy and Brian were so friendly and kind and said it was not a problem. We were shown to our room which was absolutely beautiful and very clean. The tea and coffee tray was fantastic, complete with kitkats and a lovely cafetier. Our room was en-suit with a massive shower and some lovely touches such as a sewing kit and a grooming pack. The whole guest house was decorated magnificently with a warm homely feel. Mandy and Brian made us feel so welcome and at home straight away. The lounge had a nice selection of DVDs, books, magazines, maps of the local area and a great folder filled with menus of all the local eateries which was much better than having to wander the streets in the cold to find somewhere to eat. In the morning we came down for breakfast and were greeted by mandy who asked what we would like for breakfast and said we could help ourselves to a selection of cereals, musilis, brioche rolls, cereal bars and juice. I had scrambled eggs on toast (fresh from the hens in their back garden) and my partner had beans on toast. A full breakfast is available i might add, we just fancied something lighter. It was beautifully made and tasted lovely. After breakfast mandy let us meet their chickens, ducks, sprocker spaniel grace and rabbit kevin. What a brilliant stay we had. I cannot express how welcoming and accomadating they were. It was such value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgesmarvellous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

I can not say anything different to the other reviews, nor say it better! Therefore, read them and believe them. I had no idea about the area etc, and so purely booked based on TripAdvisor reviews and was most impressed. Hosts were brilliant, the house spotless and food scrumptious! Worth every penny.

Many thanks to Mandy and Brian, a lovely stay and we shall return one day for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing