We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Puisserguier, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty room”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

A very welcoming B&B. Beautifully furnished main bedroom, comfortable and very clean. Couldn't think of a single facility that wasn't provided. Lounge available for guests to use. Pubs and restaurants within walking distrance. Ideal stop for touring the area and walkers. Great breakfast.

Room Tip: The main bedroom of the house is the best, but others were comfortable if a little smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anidav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
273
18
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were looking for a short break in the Lakes at fairly short notice. I read all the reviews on here about Balcony House and was very impressed so booked it for the last night of our stay. Wish we could have stayed all weekend but unfortunately left it too late when booking! What a way to finish off our weekend! Mandy and Brian were perfect hosts - extremely helpful, very attentive and helpful but didn't intrude. The room was stunning and as others have said with lots of little extras and fabulous personal touches.
Breakfasts were amazing and this is coming from someone who can't normally manage much more than toast but I made an exception this time :-) . We would highly recommend it if you are looking for a base in South Lakes and we look forward to coming back. No wonder it is rated as No 1 - well deserved.

Room Tip: We had a choice of 2 rooms - the small balcony room with the 4 poster or the room on the top floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs26052013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed for the Spring Bank weekend. Accomation, food and weather were absolutely splendid. We give it top marks and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone considering a stay in Kendal.
Thanks to Mandy and Brian to make our stay so pleasant and we will definitely be returning in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Very comfortable rooms, with little extras and personal touches. A breakfast that sets you up for an active day. Great hosts who are both friendly and helpful, make this your 1st choice for a visit to Kendal

Room Tip: we have used both 2 and 3 and both are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I booked into Balcony House because it was near to where I was working that week. What an absolute delight. I was so well looked after that by the end of my stay I felt like I had known Mandy and Brian all my life. They did not intrude but they where there ready to help and advise whenever I needed them. I will definitely be booking into here again and would recommend that you do to.

Room Tip: The Balcony Room is beautiful and if you get a really sunny day ending it by sitting on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

For some reason my review did not register. Anyhow, stayed in March again and this place just gets better.
From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, its like going to see family.
The warm welcome, the lovely breakfast as always and the hosts of Mandy and Brian compliment each other.
Yet again with my work have been travelling and living out of a suitcase at various hotels in the UK. Not one of them can match and achieve the Balcony House.
Will we be back, of course and as soon as possible.

Regards Jeff & Julie xx

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I was amazed at what was offered for the price at this guest house. It is within reasonable walking distance of town (with offers of a lift into town and special offers to restaurants), has the most comfortable bed with en suite bathroom (room 1) and even a sofa! There are lots of very thoughtful touches like an iron and board, good range of toiletries free Wi-fi and the breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Room 1 has en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,034 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.9 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing