We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always - make this your accommodation of choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

This is my favourite place to stay in Kendal and I really can't recommend it enough. Mandy and Brian really go out of their way to make any whim a possibility and are such wonderful hosts. Everything is beautifully decorated and all the facilties are modern. I even had the opportunity to use the gym facilities at the sanctuary during my stay. Fabulous time and would definitely continue to recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

We spent two nights at Balcony House on our way home to Aberdeenshire, having spent a week in the New Forest. We had a beautiful room, just newly refurbished, very tasteful. Mandy and Brian were very helpful and always on hand if needed. They even put out the bunting on the balcony in the bedroom next to ours as the Queen was visiting Kendal!!! Great choice for breakfast with eggs from their own hens!!! Would certainly book with them the next time we are in the Lake District.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the house and was really beautiful. The other guests we met were very...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robsheEllon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

this is the number 1 bed & breakfast in cumbria so put it on your bucket list & try it you wont be disappointed mandy & brain are a lovely couple & always make you feel welcome the place is spotless & 2nd to none

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dowdy_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Balcony house is a beautiful B&B, our room was fantastic and had been recently modernised with a flat screen TV and beautifully appointed en-suit bathroom. Mandy and Brian are amazing hosts, they made sure we had everything we needed and made themselves constantly available. Their breakfast options are amazing, I definitely recommend the full english, with fresh eggs from their chickens. There was also tea and coffee making facilities in our room which is always a bonus. We stayed 2 nights on our trip too and from Edinburgh. Mandy and Brain were very accommodating with our arrival and leaving times which made out trip effortless. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Kendal I wouldn't look anywhere else, would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully appointed and some can be converted into twin rooms if needed.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We keep returning as this is the very best B&B ever. This year all rooms have been newly decorated & furnished to a high standard. Very nice.
I'm sure the breakfast choice & portons get bigger each year. Mandy (& Brian ) how do you cook everything to perfection?
Well done once again for a fantastic stay. See you again next year.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We arrived here and received a warm welcome from Mandy after being able to park outside easily. We were shown around the property and escorted to room 3 which was a twin room with en-suite facilities and a lovely view of the back garden and houses and hills beyond. The facilities were well up to standard and exactly what we expected from reading previous reviews on this site. The full English breakfast on the first morning was out of this world and the portions were so huge that we had to opt for something lighter for the second and final mornings of our stay. Both Brian and Mandy were extremely helpful in suggesting the places we might visit and the best route to take. We would not hesitate to come back. An additional advantage is the free wireless internet connection.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meryl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our return to BH was again a wonderful stay. Mandy and Brian are exceptional hosts and can't do enough for you. The breakfasts really do set you up for the day and the recently refurbished room was was a pleasure to stay in. It's a really charming place to stay and feels very welcoming every time you return from a busy day in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyCat013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.9 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: £66 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing