We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife and I, together with two friends have just completed a walk of the Dales Way. Unfortunately, due to circumstances beyond our groups control, we were severely delayed in arriving at Kendal. We phoned Brian and Mandy to let them know of our progress (or lack of) and Brian immediately offered to come and pick us up. We were wet and very cold and seeing our 'Knight in shining armour' (actually a shining white Volvo) lifted our spirits considerably. This level of service set the standard for the rest of our stay. Nothing was too much for our host's and the accommodation was of a very high standard. Brian even provided transport to a local takeaway as we were too late to book a restaurant. We can't sing the praises of Brian and Mandy enough - they run the best B&B we have ever stayed in - and we have visited many! A good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed followed by a huge, well cooked and presented breakfast set us up for another days walk. Brian even drove us back to the point where he had collected us from the previous evening. If you get the chance, give the Balcony House a visit. We can assure you, you will not be disappointed. Brian and Mandy, Many, many thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at this B&B after a walk on Scafell Pike. We got the last of three rooms. The bathroom was across the hall (about 3 steps away) and was only used by us (the other two rooms had ensuites), but it was the most fantastic shower. Everything was provided including face wipes. The bedroom was small but was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud.

Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was outstanding. I was disappointed we could only stay one night.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonbel036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Mandy and Brian couldn't be more accommodating. This is a beautiful establishment, tastefully decorated. Spotless rooms, excellent food and nothing is too much trouble. I visit Kendal from time to time as it is my birth town and I certainly wouldn't stay anywhere else now I have stayed at Balcony House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue7812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We used the Balcony House as a stop off on our way to Elgin and from the moment we arrived it's been lovely, topped off with a fantastic breakfast with fresh tea.

Mandy and Brian can not do enough for you. One of the best B&B's we've been to. Cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcsammerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is our second visit to balcony house, and has proved a favourite of ours. The spacious modern and tastefully decorated rooms, ensure a luxurious stay. This place is like home from home, with many welcome touches. Mandy and Brian are very friendly and welcoming people and can't do enough for you. A fantastic feast of a breakfast sets you up for the day. Thank you again for a lovely break. See you again soon. Karl and Jacky

Room Tip: All rooms are of top quality and luxury
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place and stayed for 2 nights. The house is a beautiful Victorian terrace with huges rooms, walking distance into Kendal town centre. Our bedroom was very stylish and immaculately presented with a wealth of teas, coffees, toiletries and other thoughtful items. The full cooked breakfast is great and there is plenty of choice if you want something lighter. The hosts Mandy and Brian are very welcoming and very helpful, offering to drive us to town or wash cycle kit. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolaandlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Mandy & Brian are perfect hosts providing excellent accommodation with exceptionally comfortable rooms and excellent bathrooms. Mandy cooks a beautiful breakfast and Brian is very helpful with local knowledge and tourist advice. Nothing was a problem to them.
We enjoyed the walk from Balcony house into the town centre thus avoiding any parking issues.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SR666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,056 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#5 of 13 in Kendal
429 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: £62 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing