We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham
2 reviews
“Breathtaking attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Enjoyed an excellent stay at this exemplary B&B.

Mandy and Brian have considered every last detail. Beautifully furnished and with delightful little touches at every turn, Balcony House is a must.

It’s also baby-friendly. Our nine-month-old daughter caused quite the racket one night, but our hosts were more than accommodating.

And Brian is quite the raconteur. His amusing anecdotes made a delicious breakfast even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenton-Grenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
262
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed at Balcony House with some colleagues whilst attending a training course in the area. The hosts are two of the most friendly and welcoming people I have met in a long time. After our travel to Balcony House was delayed we arrived quite late but that was no problem. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean, and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasvandelft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Only stayed for one night here but I really enjoyed it. Mandy and Brian were so helpful and friendly during my stay. Brian even kindly dropped me off at the bus station the next morning, not only that but also offered to pick me up from the train station on my arrival. The bedroom was really nice and cosy and the bed was very comfortable, I agree with other reviewers that it is probably the comfiest I've slept in!

The cooked breakfast was delicious! There were also other options to choose from which included a range of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a range of teas or coffee. There is also a selection of DVDs to choose from to play in your room if you wish. Would definitely recommend staying here. Thanks again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank db03282014c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aylesbury
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Brain and Mandy must have taken B&B s to another level . The bed was the most comfortable i have ever slept in even bathrobes ,luxurious.We where walking the Dales Way and Brain picks you up and drops of the next day .They even put paper in our walking boots and dyed our coats ,little things count. Don't think about staying anywhere else in Kendal

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyaylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy N, Owner at Balcony House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you to all my guests who have written fab reviews. September seems to be the month for walkers and cyclists. Putting paper in boots and drying cycling gear isn't any problem. Having dry things for next morning must be more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife and I, together with two friends have just completed a walk of the Dales Way. Unfortunately, due to circumstances beyond our groups control, we were severely delayed in arriving at Kendal. We phoned Brian and Mandy to let them know of our progress (or lack of) and Brian immediately offered to come and pick us up. We were wet and very cold and seeing our 'Knight in shining armour' (actually a shining white Volvo) lifted our spirits considerably. This level of service set the standard for the rest of our stay. Nothing was too much for our host's and the accommodation was of a very high standard. Brian even provided transport to a local takeaway as we were too late to book a restaurant. We can't sing the praises of Brian and Mandy enough - they run the best B&B we have ever stayed in - and we have visited many! A good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed followed by a huge, well cooked and presented breakfast set us up for another days walk. Brian even drove us back to the point where he had collected us from the previous evening. If you get the chance, give the Balcony House a visit. We can assure you, you will not be disappointed. Brian and Mandy, Many, many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at this B&B after a walk on Scafell Pike. We got the last of three rooms. The bathroom was across the hall (about 3 steps away) and was only used by us (the other two rooms had ensuites), but it was the most fantastic shower. Everything was provided including face wipes. The bedroom was small but was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud.

Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was outstanding. I was disappointed we could only stay one night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonbel036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Mandy and Brian couldn't be more accommodating. This is a beautiful establishment, tastefully decorated. Spotless rooms, excellent food and nothing is too much trouble. I visit Kendal from time to time as it is my birth town and I certainly wouldn't stay anywhere else now I have stayed at Balcony House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue7812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing