We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTICO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“FANTASTICO”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just returned from a Oct weekend break at the Balcony House.
You think a place cannot get better/ but the owners Mandy and Brian just seem to input so much passion into what they do. There has been changes to some of the rooms regards décor, why from my view but even better than before. The quality of the service, breakfast and the attention to detail make this the best place I have ever stayed.
Someone has asked me to go and stay in a place in Scotland which is £200 a night?? Why I said.
Am happy to say if the price was double at the Balcony it would be worth.
I read someone had said the Balcony is in the middle of an industrial estate. In which case then London is only 10 miles south of Kendal.
We had a fantastic weekend and immediately booked to return in Nov.
You could never be disappointed staying here.
THANKYOU SO MUCH, FANTASTICO

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
270
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have stayed at Balcony House on two occasions now and have very much enjoyed our stays (especially the aga eggs!). The welcome is exceptional and the breakfasts are to die for - just about everything you can think of for a full english is on the plate and beautifully cooked. The room (we have stayed in room 3 overlooking the garden complete with ducks!) is compact but suffiently spacious and well furnished for a short stay and beds are very comfortable. Just a fifteen minute walk into the centre of Kendal it is an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy N, Owner at Balcony House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
A big thank you from us both for all your kind reviews. October has been another busy month for us.
It's an exciting time next week. Our new kitchen arrives, so I'll have to learn how to cook breakfast on an induction hob. Fingers crossed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This has to be one of the best B&B's my wife and I have ever stayed in. The welcome was so friendly from Mandy and Brian. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a spacious double room which was nicely decorated. There was tea and coffee-making facilities with KitKats and chocolates waiting for us on our arrival. There was a wide choice of cereals for breakfast and a full English breakfast was also available. We were able to park immediately outside the B&B. The shops, restaurants etc are about a 15 minute walk away. Kendal Railway Station is probably only a 10 minute walk. The next time we are in the area we will definitely return to Balcony House.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you are seeking a comfortable place to stay in Kendal, you will not be disappointed staying at Balcony House. A very warm welcome awaits, with comfortable rooms, a beautifully cooked, plentiful breakfast and a lovely living room to relax in with plentiful reading material if you've forgotten your book. Overall, excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

What a fabulous place to stay. Spent two nights at the Balcony House for a girlie weekend and it did just what is says on the packet and more. Mandy and Brian couldn't do enough to make our stay more enjoyable every little detail is thought about. The room I stayed in was beautiful, I had my own bathroom and shower room. Will be going again very soon. Four very happy ladies from Manchester

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights here, wishing it could be longer. You are welcomed to their lovely home by hosts Mandy and Brian. The standards of quality and service are equal to any first class hotel. Everything is spotlessly clean. My ensuite room was tastefully decorated, even with a sparkling chandelier. The bathroom had a great shower, fluffy white towels, cosy robes and toiletries. The bed was soooo..comfortable with quality linens. Also had flat screen TV and fully stocked hospitality tray. Room overlooked garden and duck pond with the hills in the background - so serene and quiet.
Breakfast served in their attractive diningroom included many choices and if you opt for the full breakfast, I guarantee you won't need lunch. It was scrumptious!
At the end of the day I looked forward to returning to relax and enjoy my most comfortable room.
If I lived in England, I would be a frequent return visitor, and I am sure they have many returning guests.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to email directly with any questions or concerns you have. Good hosts will reply...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLDHAM
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Just had two wonderful nights at this wonderful B & B. Lots if top quality furnishings and little extras that made our stay extra special. Brian and Mandy are fantastic hosts recommending good places to eat and drink with the addition of lifts to make sure we knew where to go, this was above and beyond anything experienced before. I must also praise the delicious full English breakfast with top quality produce. Would have no hesitation in recommending this little gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
412 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
271 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grizedale Lodge
Grizedale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Grizedale
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing