We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Kendal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leyland, Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas in Kendal”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Kendal has lots of historical features and is a great little shopping town especially at Christmas when the town's streets and squares are decorated with lights. There is a very enjoyable walk along the river bank. We went at the end of 2012 which was the first time we stayed with Mandy and Brian at Balcony House. Mandy's Christmas decorations are something to behold only exceeded by the comfort of the rooms and the quality of the breakfasts. Both Mandy and Brian are very welcoming and the house has many interesting features apart from the Christmas decorations. We have been lucky enough to be able to book again this year and we are so looking forward to it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
270
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have recently stayed for 3 nights and cannot rate the care given by Mandy and Brian highly enough. They offered lifts into Kendal if we should want a lift and recommended places to eat and were most helpful in giving us information. The bedroom was extremely clean, the bathroom extras exceptional for a B&B (dressing gowns supplied),and lovely fluffy towels, Breakfasts were very filling and well cooked. A very comfortable residents lounge too. Complimentary access to a nearby hotel spa. We would not hesitate to stay again and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: If you don't like any noise but need a window open then you should ask for room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Yet again, we have had a lovely stay here, where nothing is too much trouble for Mandy and Brian. This is a beautiful house, well equipped (with stunning chandeliers!) and very comfortable. Breakfasts are massive and tasty and the conversations are always interesting.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just stayed at the balcony for 3 nights wish it could have been for longer,the deco is fantastic the bedrooms are amazing such excellent taste.The breakfast was gorgeous.Mandy & Brian made us so welcome can not wait to visit again and we also loved grace,Kevin & the ducks.would recommend the balcony 100% to anybody visiting Kendal can not rate it enough fabulous!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittiebb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is without doubt the best B&B I have ever stayed in from the perspective of looking after its guests. The rooms are furnished like a hotel: immaculate, nice towels, fresh toiletries, etc. Breakfast is good quality and plentiful. But what really sets it apart is the customer service. When my friend had a problem which required access to a computer, Mandy & Brian lent us theirs and let us stay well after our checkout time to sort things out. We were also offered lifts into town in the rain. And they are such genuinely nice people. This is a great B&B, I'll definitely come back, and can unreservedly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Most wonderful B&B we have ever stayed in. Clean, tastefully decorated rooms and the standard of service are equal to any first class hotel. And the English breakfast was definitely one of the best we have ever had. Thank you Brian and Mandy!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rufford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Finally getting round to writing a review of Balcony House following are third stay this year! There is nothing that Mandy & Brian cannot do to make your stay a delightful experience from the moment they greet you till the time comes to say farewell. We have stayed in all the rooms but my wife's personal favourite is room 1 at the front of the property. The breakfasts are wonderful, especially the eggs, having been introduced to all the hens, yes they do all have names, on an earlier visit. The location is excellent for our stays being close, 10 minute walk to Kendal Station. We would always recommend a stay here an you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
412 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
271 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grizedale Lodge
Grizedale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Grizedale
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing