We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Only stayed the one night - absolute attention to detail. Lovely room with better than average facilities. Great hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Superb breakfast. Cannot recommend highly enough. Thank you (Phil - Mitie)

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LandladyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
273
18
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Mandy and Brian are fabulous hosts at this stylish, great value B&B which is quietly located within easy walking distance to Kendal town- 5 mins walk. Rooms are spotlessly clean and the breakfast is a real treat- your choice of fruit, cereals and yoghurts alongside a full English! We had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend this b&b.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cbg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My other half decided to book us an impromptu night away in the Lakes and after some looking around he picked Balcony House. I have to say his choice was spot on. The house is beautiful both inside and out and Mandy and Brian are very friendly and welcoming. The bedroom we had was gorgeous and the added touches such as the bath robes, toiletries and not being rationed to 2 tea bags in the room (unlike many other places I've stayed!!) were lovely added extras. Other reviewers have commented on the breakfast and I certainly agree with the positive comments, it was delicious. Overall we had a lovely time albeit we were only there one night and I would not hesitate to stay again when we are next in Kendal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was our first trip to The Balcony and it was the perfect place for a short break in Kendal. The rooms are immaculately decorated, and nothing was too much trouble for Mandy and Brian who were excellent hosts. The breakfast is first class with lots of choice and a cooked breakfast that is delicious. We'd highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It was my first time at The Balcony Hotel, the breakfast was scrumptious including a variety of cereals, fresh fruit and cooked breakfast in any combination you chose.

My room (with a Balcony) was tastefully decorated and uncluttered. Mandy and Brian had added the personal touches such as a box of Dairy Milk Choloates on my pillow, bottle opener and wine glasses, even extra bottles of water.

The shower room was spacious and clean, lovely fresh towels, shower gels, soaps and face cloths. I will be visiting again, along with recommending Balcony House Hotel to friends and Family. Thanks again Mandy and Brian for the warm welcome

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have spent a lovely few days at Balcony House . Mandy and Brian are the perfect hosts , nothing is too much trouble . Beautiful rooms with everything you could wish for, spotlessly clean tastefully decorated and homely . You cannot faulty the breakfast more than enough . We look forward to coming again next year for the 3rd time . Elaine and Phil

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Was absolutely in love with the b&b Mandy and Brian we really welcoming and lovely our room was so cosy and clean! We had our own bathroom and we had bath robes! Fresh towels and all different accessoriesAbsolutely amazing place to stay in. The breakfast was lovely so many things to choose from. I forgot to mention that our room had a balcony very romantic
I could go on and on!!!!!!!!! But really amazing place recommend to anyone, we will definitely be back and will recommend to friends!
One last thing there is a special someone you need to meet when you get there his name is Kevin!!! I won't say anymore you have to go there to find out
Thank you Mandy and Brian

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsVicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,032 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
418 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing