We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay, and excellent hosts, would definately recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very pleasant stay, and excellent hosts, would definately recommend”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed at the Balcony House on 25.6.10. We loved the room and enjoyed all aspects of the stay including a 1st class breakfast. We hope to return there one day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cal092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
267
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Limoges, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2010

The room was spacious and clean with modern furnture and a brand new en-suite bathroom. The owners, Mandy and Brian couldn't have been nicer hosts and the breakfast was great. I would highly recommend this to anyone coming to Kendal. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frys-in-france
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We stayed here only last week a beautiful home with some lovely furniture and the lounge is lovely we had the double room at the front with a lovely comfy settee and bed tea and coffee making facilities excellent no chasing anyone for tea coffee milk etc plenty on hand room lovely and big and the breakfast to die for we didnt eat again while tea time thankyou for a lovely stay in your delightful home from home

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieanneWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Mandy and Brian are very welcoming. They have created a beautiful house. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. A lovely place to stay

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmicScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

we went to kendal to do some family history and to meet up with friends, we stayed at balcony house for 3 nights, how pleased we were to have chosen this lovely house but it isnt just a house its a real home and it shows. brian and mandy have made their place so welcoming, the food good , the cleanliness was second to none and that bed was to die for, although the room is small the bed more than made up for it for sure, thank you for making our few days so much better and hopefully, god willing ,will be back.we definately reccommend it to anyone going that way, but dont forget to mention the parking to them and they will sort it for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra_almond2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

just returned from a great weekend in balconey house kendal . loved it house is beautiful rooms are nice ,breakfast is fantastic .mandy and brian make you so welcome ,nothing is to much trouble . would recommend the balconey house to everyone cant wait for my next trip stayin here again

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonydigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We stayed one night at balcony house and were made so welcome, the balcony room which we stayed in, is quite small but it has everything you need for a short stay. It has a four poster and is beautifully decorated as is the whole house - so tasteful. We got loads of ideas for our house and I was totally ready to rip mine apart when i got home !
its spotlessly clean and the white bathrobes in the victorian bathroom were a lovely touch. Breakfast couldn't have been any better - perfectly cooked and good quality. We also took advantage of using the pool and spa at the nearby hotel, which made our stay 5 star. Brian and Mandy are clearly very proud of their beautiful house and they should be.
lovely place and lovely people.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBWManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,005 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#5 of 13 in Kendal
407 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
491 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing