We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lyndhurst Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$421
US$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$105
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
US$101
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$196
US$188
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
272
37
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
37
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome made cakesthe riverbiscuitsb bporridgelittle touchesfull englishon arrivalfresh milktown centrebreakfast was deliciousreceived a warm welcomehome from homeextra toucheslovely guesthousevisiting kendala great stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

As stated in previous reviews, B&Bs in the UK are different than the ones we are accustomed to visiting in the US. So if you are an American don't expect to find US equivalent lodging, but then if American is what you want, what are you doing in the UK?

The Lyndhurst Guest House is an excellent B&B; the hosts are lovely, the food is good, beds are comfortable, and the location is excellent for visiting the Lakes and Kendal area. It's only real negative is the parking situation - parking is on the street and limited, just keep your fingers crossed you find a spot.

For Americans, the rooms are small by our standards and all of the rooms are upstairs, again not unusual for the UK. However, they are pleasant. The room we stayed in had a closet that held our luggage, with the door left open. We were flying so we had the airline determined luggage: two suitcases, two carry ons, two personal items. Pretty much what any tourist would have. Stuart and Yvonne had offered us space in a storage closet if we needed it, but we didn't. However, their offer was very much apprciated.

Yvonne had a broken leg so I believe we saw the Lyndhust under the worst conditions...which is saying they must be really great when she is able to be up and about! She still made us feel welcome, gave us good (very good!) advice on where to eat and local sites to visit, and made sure the BH had a place to look at maps and work on his GPS and camera in the evenings. Stuart was simply phenomenal. We wanted to see the Lakes District. He had road maps to loan us, good advice as to roads and sites, and was most helpful. He also made sure our breakfast was perfect. I'm vegetarian and although the Full English is a lovely idea, and the BH enjoyed them, I just can't do it. Stuart brought me wonderful poached eggs every morning for breakfast, a very pleasant change from the fried eggs I had been getting! Definitely a big step up from where we had been staying in the Peaks!

This is really a 4.5 English B&B, but Trip Adviser doesn't allow for partial stars! I believe one can not go wrong at the Lyndehurst. Welcoming, comfortable, knowledgeable, and the price was very reasonable. I would stay again and heartily recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AniKinTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We recently stayed at Lyndhurst for (I think) the 6th or 7th time. That in itself is testament to this B&B and in particular, to it's owners. We couldn't stay in our favourite room this time as it was already booked but we took the second super king size room which is every bit as good. The view over the river is lovely and the sound of the water running past is so relaxing.

The whole place is as clean as ever. The breakfasts as good as ever. The banter as entertaining as ever! Looking at a previous review it seems someone has severely misunderstood Stuart's rather dry sense of humour (or they are very thin skinned). Anyway, take no notice of that - he certainly is not scary at all. Yvonne has recently recovered from her broken ankle and also a rather nasty tumble but was in fine form during our stay. And Bev was simply charming at breakfast time. A super team.

So, we would say, when in Kendal stay at the Lyndhurst and take no notice of those recent daft reviews. We will certainly be back for a break before Christmas - we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room you stay in, they're all lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank excile11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The beds are much too short for a 1,86m person and very soft (low quality), the TV is very small (maybe 13") and does not work properly, the furniture of the room I had and also of the rest of the house is simply ugly, the shower is, as by many reviewers already mentioned, very very very small (50x50cm perhaps) and the showers flow-type heater collapses when any toilet refills - no matter if it is the own or from another room.
The breakfast was ok until good though no cheese was offered - only marmelade for on toast and the coffee was good. Further the room was clean.

I stayed single but had on the weekend to pay the price for two because I had a double room. I wonder why so many managers in this world are simply bad but do they really think I would come back if they only take, take, take? So, no obligingness. A pitty; I definitely won´t go a second time there. My recommendation: better take another one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GreatBigWhiteWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst8, Owner at Lyndhurst Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We realise it is much easier to write this sort of review on-line rather than say anything during your stay. It is a great shame you did not share your views with us whilst you were staying at Lyndhurst, as then we would have had the chance to do something to rectify any issues, most of which were easy to solve or to explain. At the very least we now have the opportunity respond, so we will try to answer them in order.
The bed in which you slept is a standard single bed – that is 6’ 3” long and 3’ wide – ample for someone 6’ 1” tall like yourself we think. It is a high quality, orthopaedic bed made by top manufacturer Sealy; it has the mattress designation “firm”. Perhaps if you are used to hard, foam mattresses, so often used in continental Europe, then you may find ours a little softer?
The TV is small but is a quality Samsung LCD – and it works just fine with its separate digi-box. It is standing on top of an Edwardian Sewing Table, which we happen to think is quite nice. Our house is furnished in an eclectic mix of the new, the vintage and the antique reflecting our personal choice. We will make no apology for that.
The room and en-suite were described to you on booking. The en-suite is small but the shower tray and cubicle are of a standard size. The shower is of a standard electric type and also works just fine. We have tried to replicate your “problem” by simultaneously flushing four toilets on that floor and it made no difference whatsoever to either the temperature or the flow. We did however notice after your departure, that the shower unit was switched to cold. If you had mentioned your problem to us, it was easily rectified.
Thank you for the kind words about the breakfast. We are however, mystified about your comment on the lack of cheese. We offer a number of cooked options; you ordered, and enjoyed, our Full Cumbrian Cooked Breakfast, of which cheese is certainly not an ingredient. We do not generally offer a continental breakfast, but will always provide one if asked. At no point did you mention a yearning for cheese. But there again, we would not expect to have Cumberland Sausage, Bacon, Egg and Black Pudding whilst staying in a German B&B.
Now, we come to the cost. You booked a twin for yourself and a companion at a standard room price. Unfortunately your companion did not show up. You spoke to Stuart on the evening before departure and in passing you stated that your friend would be paying you for his half of the stay and that, of course you expected to pay the full room cost. It was therefore somewhat shocking the following morning, when you tried with Yvonne, to affect a reduction in the price.
So finally, as we said previously it is easier to have your say in print, on-line, but unfortunately it can have a real detrimental effect on a small business. We do hope that readers on Tripadvisor take the time to read about the real Lyndhurst Guest House in other, more positive reviews. Better still, come along and stay with us; you will find us friendly, helpful and eager to please, and we will always do our utmost to solve any issues of which we are made aware. Sorry sir, but we would prefer not to extend this invitation to you – we do hope you understand and that you take your own advice and “take another one”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

myself and my partner tom stayed at Lyndhurst for 2 nights we received a very warm welcome from Yvonne who was very helpful with places to go and eat and very down to earth, breakfasts were lovely nothing was too much for them we found Stuart very chatty and dry humoured, bedrooms were comfortable and the shower very powerful and the location is about 10 minutes walk from Kendal town centre would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl2fraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The welcome that we received when first arriving as Lyndhurst was fantastic. Yvonne was lovely to us and really made us feel at home. She explained everything to us very well. Would have been fantastic if she had been the host the whole time, but unfortunately she had had an injury to her leg therefore Stuart took over instead.
The room was quite nice, wasn't a fan of the green striped wallpaper and the green striped bed covers but that's just a case of taste. TV was very small and the bathroom was cramped and didn't have a bath. The breakfast was okay, bacon quite thick and dry. The lady that served us was charming, very hospitable. Downside was we both found the guy running it intimidating, scary and quite rude which rather wrecked the experience for us unfortunately. We were told off for coming out of the room twenty minutes late even though we were never told what time we should vacate the room. We also explained to the guy that we needed to get cash out to pay him and we'd be back in ten minutes ( don't like carrying around large amounts of cash and they didn't take card payments ). Upon this we were treated as if we were criminals, and told of a story of someone who walked out without paying and how he got the police to track him down and spend time in jail ! Completely unnecessary and very disrespectful. We would never ever steal from anyone.
All in all it was an okay experience but I don't think that I would stay there again. Is a shame because i've heard that other people have had a fantastic experience. Don't want this review to put other people off, was just our personal experience at the time. Let's just hope it was a fluke !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews