We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“house hunters” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyndhurst Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lyndhurst Guest House
Ranked #2 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“house hunters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

a very nice place,good company and food, excellent breakfast, pleasent and enjoyable, will go back for a third time ,great humour by stuart and becky,great warm beds,had a wonderfull two evenings there will try and stay more there in the future ,always easy to please and very knowledgable about kendal and the lakes.always good pointers with places to visit and pubs and also restuarants...no down points of any kind .A Brilliant Place to stay ,i truly RECOMMEND it !!!!!!!

Room Tip: room 4 its very quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wombatsown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    31
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
139
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

this b&b is in a superb location to explore the lake district.stuart and beverly made us very welcome especially as we arrived early. i initially booked for two nights but then at very short notice changed this to three which stuart was very helpful with.the room was very clean and fresh and also had tea and coffee facilities.we also had a tv and wifi which is a nice bonus.breakfast was superb with many options including fruit juice tea and coffee.stuart has a superb knowledge of the area which was also very helpful.lyndhurst is only about a 5 minute walk into kendal town centre which has everything you need.i would highly recommend the lyndhurst and will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gavin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first time and we are very glad to have found this place. The facilities were clean and comfortable and the hosts were wonderful. The place is at a walkable distance to a lot of fine restaurants, pubs and shops.

The hosts Stuart and Beverly were very friendly and warm. They accommodated our late arrival, ensured our needs were met, offered vegetarian options for my breakfast main course, gave their recommendations on the restaurants and places to visit.

I have had issues with TV, power shower and Wifi with various B&B's in the past. Nothing of that sort happened in Lyndhurst. Everything worked just fine.

I wish we had more options for breakfast say fruits, yogurt or pastries. Other than that, this place is one of the best B&B's.

I would certainly stay here again !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

As stated in previous reviews, B&Bs in the UK are different than the ones we are accustomed to visiting in the US. So if you are an American don't expect to find US equivalent lodging, but then if American is what you want, what are you doing in the UK?

The Lyndhurst Guest House is an excellent B&B; the hosts are lovely, the food is good, beds are comfortable, and the location is excellent for visiting the Lakes and Kendal area. It's only real negative is the parking situation - parking is on the street and limited, just keep your fingers crossed you find a spot.

For Americans, the rooms are small by our standards and all of the rooms are upstairs, again not unusual for the UK. However, they are pleasant. The room we stayed in had a closet that held our luggage, with the door left open. We were flying so we had the airline determined luggage: two suitcases, two carry ons, two personal items. Pretty much what any tourist would have. Stuart and Yvonne had offered us space in a storage closet if we needed it, but we didn't. However, their offer was very much apprciated.

Yvonne had a broken leg so I believe we saw the Lyndhust under the worst conditions...which is saying they must be really great when she is able to be up and about! She still made us feel welcome, gave us good (very good!) advice on where to eat and local sites to visit, and made sure the BH had a place to look at maps and work on his GPS and camera in the evenings. Stuart was simply phenomenal. We wanted to see the Lakes District. He had road maps to loan us, good advice as to roads and sites, and was most helpful. He also made sure our breakfast was perfect. I'm vegetarian and although the Full English is a lovely idea, and the BH enjoyed them, I just can't do it. Stuart brought me wonderful poached eggs every morning for breakfast, a very pleasant change from the fried eggs I had been getting! Definitely a big step up from where we had been staying in the Peaks!

This is really a 4.5 English B&B, but Trip Adviser doesn't allow for partial stars! I believe one can not go wrong at the Lyndehurst. Welcoming, comfortable, knowledgeable, and the price was very reasonable. I would stay again and heartily recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AniKinTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We recently stayed at Lyndhurst for (I think) the 6th or 7th time. That in itself is testament to this B&B and in particular, to it's owners. We couldn't stay in our favourite room this time as it was already booked but we took the second super king size room which is every bit as good. The view over the river is lovely and the sound of the water running past is so relaxing.

The whole place is as clean as ever. The breakfasts as good as ever. The banter as entertaining as ever! Looking at a previous review it seems someone has severely misunderstood Stuart's rather dry sense of humour (or they are very thin skinned). Anyway, take no notice of that - he certainly is not scary at all. Yvonne has recently recovered from her broken ankle and also a rather nasty tumble but was in fine form during our stay. And Bev was simply charming at breakfast time. A super team.

So, we would say, when in Kendal stay at the Lyndhurst and take no notice of those recent daft reviews. We will certainly be back for a break before Christmas - we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room you stay in, they're all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank excile11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colours
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The beds are much too short for a 1,86m person and very soft (low quality), the TV is very small (maybe 13") and does not work properly, the furniture of the room I had and also of the rest of the house is simply ugly, the shower is, as by many reviewers already mentioned, very very very small (50x50cm perhaps) and the showers flow-type heater collapses when any toilet refills - no matter if it is the own or from another room.
The breakfast was ok until good though no cheese was offered - only marmelade for on toast and the coffee was good. Further the room was clean.

I stayed single but had on the weekend to pay the price for two because I had a double room. I wonder why so many managers in this world are simply bad but do they really think I would come back if they only take, take, take? So, no obligingness. A pitty; I definitely won´t go a second time there. My recommendation: better take another one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreatBigWhiteWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst8, Owner at Lyndhurst Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We realise it is much easier to write this sort of review on-line rather than say anything during your stay. It is a great shame you did not share your views with us whilst you were staying at Lyndhurst, as then we would have had the chance to do something to rectify any issues, most of which were easy to solve or to explain. At the very least we now have the opportunity respond, so we will try to answer them in order.
The bed in which you slept is a standard single bed – that is 6’ 3” long and 3’ wide – ample for someone 6’ 1” tall like yourself we think. It is a high quality, orthopaedic bed made by top manufacturer Sealy; it has the mattress designation “firm”. Perhaps if you are used to hard, foam mattresses, so often used in continental Europe, then you may find ours a little softer?
The TV is small but is a quality Samsung LCD – and it works just fine with its separate digi-box. It is standing on top of an Edwardian Sewing Table, which we happen to think is quite nice. Our house is furnished in an eclectic mix of the new, the vintage and the antique reflecting our personal choice. We will make no apology for that.
The room and en-suite were described to you on booking. The en-suite is small but the shower tray and cubicle are of a standard size. The shower is of a standard electric type and also works just fine. We have tried to replicate your “problem” by simultaneously flushing four toilets on that floor and it made no difference whatsoever to either the temperature or the flow. We did however notice after your departure, that the shower unit was switched to cold. If you had mentioned your problem to us, it was easily rectified.
Thank you for the kind words about the breakfast. We are however, mystified about your comment on the lack of cheese. We offer a number of cooked options; you ordered, and enjoyed, our Full Cumbrian Cooked Breakfast, of which cheese is certainly not an ingredient. We do not generally offer a continental breakfast, but will always provide one if asked. At no point did you mention a yearning for cheese. But there again, we would not expect to have Cumberland Sausage, Bacon, Egg and Black Pudding whilst staying in a German B&B.
Now, we come to the cost. You booked a twin for yourself and a companion at a standard room price. Unfortunately your companion did not show up. You spoke to Stuart on the evening before departure and in passing you stated that your friend would be paying you for his half of the stay and that, of course you expected to pay the full room cost. It was therefore somewhat shocking the following morning, when you tried with Yvonne, to affect a reduction in the price.
So finally, as we said previously it is easier to have your say in print, on-line, but unfortunately it can have a real detrimental effect on a small business. We do hope that readers on Tripadvisor take the time to read about the real Lyndhurst Guest House in other, more positive reviews. Better still, come along and stay with us; you will find us friendly, helpful and eager to please, and we will always do our utmost to solve any issues of which we are made aware. Sorry sir, but we would prefer not to extend this invitation to you – we do hope you understand and that you take your own advice and “take another one”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

myself and my partner tom stayed at Lyndhurst for 2 nights we received a very warm welcome from Yvonne who was very helpful with places to go and eat and very down to earth, breakfasts were lovely nothing was too much for them we found Stuart very chatty and dry humoured, bedrooms were comfortable and the shower very powerful and the location is about 10 minutes walk from Kendal town centre would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl2fraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.3 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndhurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndhurst Guest House

Property: Lyndhurst Guest House
Address: 8 South Road, Kendal LA9 5QH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyndhurst Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yvonne welcomes you to Lyndhurst Guest House in Kendal. My late-Victorian home is in a a quiet riverside location a five minutes' walk to the bustling market-town centre. All local shops and amenities including restaurants, good pubs, museums and galleries are within easy reach. Meander into town to the renowned Brewery Arts Centre, stroll along the lovely riverside or wander up to nearby Kendal Castle. Let my home be your base for a wonderful holiday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lyndhurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndhurst Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing