We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but on very noisy road!”
Review of Travelodge Kendal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Kendal
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Well maintained, clean Travelodge, in a good location for touring Lakes. However, very noisy from traffic on dual carriageway outside. Also the single beds are very uncomfortable!! Nowhere to eat breakfast from here, I know the breakfast box is available but it is expensive for all you get! That all said, I would go back, simply because it was great value for money and in a good location and the room was clean, tidy and smelt fresh.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank carriessh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great little hotel on the outskirts of Kendal. Friendly helpful staff.
The only downside is there is no road sign on the approach, but the directions provided were great. I believe it is the local council that won't allow a sign!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Everything about Kendal is lovely and the location of this travelodge is great but that's about it. The room was a lot smaller than expected and not a 'family room' size. The worst thing was the huge amount of dust in the room! The room was do dusty that it affected my throat and I fell ill... Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lgreviews7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Kendal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We also expect all our rooms to be cleaned to a high standard of cleanliness so we are really concerned to learn of the condition of your room Lgreviews7. We would like to sincerely apologise for the experience you had and we would like to take the opportunity to investigate your concerns regarding the cleanliness of your room in more detail so we would very much appreciate it if you would visit our website and use the Contact Us button to provide us with more details. Please indicate that you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Good quality Travelodge in handy location for Kendal and The Lakes. Nice comfy new beds though pillows not so comfy. Only complaint was the light flashed in the bathroom and it wasn't replaced when reported, but minor issue. Otherwise recommended.

Room Tip: Back room away from road was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BournemouthCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed from 24th to 26th June on our way back from a trip to N. Ireland & were pleased to find that Wayne, an old acquaintance from Lancaster was now manager to Kendal The Lodge overall was immaculate & the staff super dooper.....as always. Jason deserves a special mention for his kindness & help when the problem with our trike's wheel bearing brought our holiday to an abrupt halt. Most distressing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is tucked away behind a BP garage on the A591 - Be prepared to stab the brakes on and watch for cars behind you as you make the hairpin bend into the car park! Coming from the North requires an illegal U-turn and a long wait for a suitable gap so as not to instigate a messy pile-up on this race-track of a road.
We spent 4 nights here with our 2 dogs. Firstly I think it's worth being positive about this chain's attitude to dogs. Also, the beds are gorgeous and the room was clean and modern. Now the problems...
Noise... I said NOISE!!! Yes it is convenient being close to the A591 but means having the windows closed all the time. We were lucky(?) in having pretty cool weather in June. If you had a hot day you would probably melt in these rooms (where the windows only open a crack on the 1st floor for "safety" reasons). Travelodge are too mean to put in aircon of course but will lend you a fan if you ask nicely.
KEYS which do not work... Long story short, we had both cardkeys reprogrammed several times
over the four days. One staffer admitted that the system was unreliable!
Crap TV - obviously TL policy to get as much use out of their kit as possible, thus analogue TV sets still in use long after everyone else is on Freeview or Sky... no sport, no news channels, no BBC3 or BBC4 and only 2 radio channels (both sport).
Other irritations include... no mini-fridge, no shaving light in bathroom, fierce car park lights seem to be trained on the building!

In summary then, avoid in hot weather but otherwise ok, ish.

Room Tip: avoid rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3DogKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

good locale for visiting lake district areas, but transport essential. Quiet location considering on a dual carriageway.Signage could be improved as was almost upon it before seeing sign. Garage convenience store reasonably priced too.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
2.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,115 reviews
3 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kendal
302 reviews
5.6 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,121 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Kendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Kendal

Address: A591, Prizet, Kendal LA8 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kendal
#4 Business Hotel in Kendal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £40 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Kendal 1.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Kendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Kendal Hotel Kendal
Travel Lodge Kendal
Kendal Travelodge
Kendal Travel Lodge
Travelodge Kendal Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing