We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real country manor - Elegant and stately”

Middle Reston Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Middle Reston Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We are from the US. We recently spent two weeks int the UK, where we stayed at six different B&Bs. Middle Reston is one of the finest! A beautiful stately home, with wonderful views, isolation, and large, comfortable rooms. The best part, however is the hosts, Jen and Simon. They are wonderful. It's like staying with your British uncle and aunt. They made us feel welcome, and like a part of the family. The pub that Simon arranged for us to eat at (Strickland Arms) was one of the best experiences we had our whole time there. The breakfast was wonderful, and what a beautiful table Jen sets!

Thanks again Jen and Simon. Best Wishes.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2008

We were driving from Dunkeld Scotland to Preston England. It was a long drive ( when you throw in stopping at several sites along the way). So we thought we would enjoy staying at a bed and breakfast in the Lakes District. I contacted Simon at the Middle Reston Bed and Breakfast and he made the whole reservation process very pain-free. There was no advance payment which can be a hassle from the States since he only accepts cash. There were four of us -- me and my wife along with our son and his wife. When we arrived, Simon and his wife (Ginny) were gone; but, they left a note on the door telling us to let ourselves in and to pick out our bedrooms. Everything was great. It is a grand old summer house (19 rooms). We men spent the evening sitting in front of the fireplace and drinking some of Simon's Scotch Whisky. The women toured the house admiring the beautiful knick knacks.

The whole Lake District is beautiful and we wished we planned for more time there. The next morning, my son and daughter-in-law had to catch an early train to Dublin (this trip included a boat ride). Simon was thoughtful enough to get up extra early to drive them to the station. My wife and I slept in and had a great English breakfast with Simon and Ginny.

When we go back to the Lake District for a much longer visit, we will be staying with Simon and Ginny again. I know that this will add to the enjoyment of the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank digit47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2007

Through Trip Advisor we were fortunate enough to find this hidden gem of a country house to stay at over the May Bank Holiday. It's about a mile from Staveley village and about 3 miles from Kendal. Set in its own grounds with woodlands at the back, and bedroom windows overlooking the fells and stunning local countryside.

The wonderful Edwardian country house is home to dogs, cat, donkey and hens, as well as the family who look after their guests so well. We had a delicious breakfast both mornings - the choice included smoked salmon and scrambled egg and kippers.

If you want to stay somewhere away from the madding crowd, but no too far away from local attractions it is the perfect place.
We visited Sizergh Castle which although is undergoing extensive exterior renovation, has the most beautiful gardens and fascinating interior with some of the best wood panelling and carving in the country.

As advised and booked by our hosts we had evening dinner at the Sun Inn, Crook, which needs to be booked early as it is so popular.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

A wonderful B&B offered within the home of a beautiful Edwardian House in the Lake District. The house is run by the same family as the original owners and the collection of original furnishings creates an old world charm.

The owners made us feel like a part of the family.

The bed was so comfy I didn’t want to get out, but the breakfast was well worth it. They put on a wonderful spread, tailored to our tastes, wonderful fresh, wholesome and delicious foods.

It is located out of the touristy Windemere area and the bedroom view was wonderful.

Definitely an unsung gem of the Lake District.

Make sure you keep the phone number to hand when arriving as there are no obvious signs and you may wish to call to confirm exact location.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kateontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
4.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,113 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.3 mi away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Underbarrow
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Eagle & Child Inn
Eagle & Child Inn
#1 of 2 in Staveley
176 reviews
8.9 mi away
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Reston Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Reston Bed and Breakfast

Address: Danes Road | Staveley, Kendal LA8 9PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Middle Reston Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing