We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT SUPPORT AND SERVICE.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heaves Country House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT SUPPORT AND SERVICE.”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed for the weekend along with a large group of friends from several car forums. The support from all the staff was excellent and they went well beyond what was expected to help out with issues which were nothing to do with the hotel.

I was very impressed with the hotel and had a great weekend.. I look forward to next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martinmac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    20
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveley's,Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We had booked a room (number 1) at the Heaves Hotel months before we arrived and it turned out to be one of the worst Hotels that we had ever stayed in.On arrival the first impression was why hadn't they put a door mat at the entrance? All the dirt and muck was being walked into the foyer and up the stairs which was already showing it's age and was somewhat worse for wear.
The general appearance left quite a lot to be desired,old,unkempt and showing it's age with well worn furniture would be a good review.If only they would (or could) spend some time and money on cleaning and on the uptake of the place,maybe if the owners stayed in some other Hotels they would have an inkling about what customers expect in this day and age? Maybe if the owners and staff tried to smile every now and again,well that would be a BIG improvement.
Our room was large,quiet (at the rear) but dated and basic,there was dust,cobwebs (and spiders) everywhere and the term 'shabby chic' came to mind but this is really just a phrase instead of saying that it was run down and desperately in need of a make over.At breakfast no one came anywhere near us except when two plates of a full english breakfast was plonked down in front of both of us,Carol is Vegetarian and i don't eat mushrooms or eggs so it was all dispatched back into the kitchen and a more suitable breakfast was eventually provided.Why not ask customers what they would like beforehand? What 'The Hotel Inspector' would have to say about the Heaves would make good television viewing! In fairness i would say that the bed was comfortable and clean,can't really think of anything else good to report though.
The only reason that we stayed the night was that we were attending a car show in their grounds and without a reliable mobile phone signal and without the local knowledge of other establishments in the area i was reluctant to take a chance of finding somewhere else that could accommodate us with such short notice.The car event show may be taking place at the Heaves Hotel again next year but once bitten,twice shy,i'll be attending but staying somewhere else even if the taxi costs an arm and a leg.
Ray Martin.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raymartin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

After staying on manchester Road in Bolton for the previous two night, this was an incredible contrast. This is an old manor house. Some would say it need updating, but then you would lose much of its charm nad the whole experience would be just like any other bland hotel anywhere in the world.
What struck me first was the sheer size of the rooms and the entry hall and staircase. Supremely generous - no efficiency or space-saving here. And that makes for a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We stayed in the Gandy room where the en-suite bathroom was bigger than the whole suite in many hotels and B&Bs I have used! And the pumbing works really well! The room really deserves a king sized bed. My only criticism is that the bed was old and too small.
The breakfasts were lovely; unfortunately we were not able to sample their other meals. The staff (all family) were very welcoming and helpful, providing a speciaol early breakfast on one day and a later than normal one on the other day.
The setting is also lovely - out of town (although there was a little motorway noise audible) with rabbits, pheasant and deer in teh grounds near the building.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave-from-Queensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Heaves hotel is a beautiful English manor house. Our bedroom was huge with twin beds, good quality sheets and duvets. The ensuite was also very genorous in size with good quality towels. The grounds were lovely and included a garden centre and some lovely old oak trees. The food was adequate but I wouldn't stay here for the food. The decor of the hotel is dated but tasteful and I found it quaint. The bar area, however, could definitely do with a bit of attention as it seems a bit too down at heel, more shabby than chic ,as they say. We paid £65 for bed and breakfast, I thought it represented very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Siobhan797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

We had the privilege of using the Heaves Hotel for a family Wedding. The house itself looks like a French Chateau rising out of beautiful,cared-for grounds. Inside,the atmosphere of elegance continues. There is a marvelous curved staircase rising up from the entrance hall,large paintings and enormous antique mirrors hanging on the walls. Each room is different and individual with none of that anonymous 'corporate entertaining' feel which drains the atmosphere out of any occasion. The staff could not have been more helpful,before,during and after the event,all clearly taking pride in maintaining the traditions of a family-run Hotel. The food was all sourced locally, (Morecambe Bay Shrimps,Cumbrian lamb etc.) and the portions were generous and tasted fantastic. Because the setting is so glorious,with wonderful walks from the door this is a perfect spot for a celebration of any kind. Thank you Heaves Hotel!

  • Liked — Beautiful and individual
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Zenoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

This hotel was booked for us - so when we read the reviews we were worried.
But what a delightful 2-night stay. We had the enormous and lovely Gandy Room with a bathroom to fit a large family. Previous stayers included Elgar - and he was inspired! The staff were delightful, breakfast superb - we didn't stay for dinner.
This ancient and beautiful house could indeed do with the odd £1M spending on it - I offered to repaint the oil paintings free! But what character. American visitors would love it.
We also looked at several other rooms - all looked pleasant.
So don't be put off by disparaging comments above - enjoy some old England.

  • Liked — very large spacious rooms
  • Disliked — the electric fires - rather than log fires
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rieverrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

all we needed was to see Manuel appear from behind the reception desk ..... nobody else did!

This place could be fantastic but is in dire need of refurbishment - it was shabby, old fashioned and dirty. We tried not to look too much at the room for fear at what we might find. The bathroom was awful - plastic shower curtain, cracked sink, carpeted floor. There was a TV but it didn't work, a kettle with no lead, etc etc - a place best avoided!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephs_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.0 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,016 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
672 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#1 of 13 in Kendal
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kendal
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaves Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaves Country House Hotel

Property: Heaves Country House Hotel
Address: Kendal LA8 8EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Heaves Country Hotel
Heaves Country House Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing