We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heaves Country House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We have been staying at the Heaves for many years and we've never been disappointed. It is ideally located for the Lakes and has excellent parking facilities. We recently stayed in the self catering cottages on the site which are excellent, they are centrally heated and well equipped including free wifi, a cosy retreat from the rain outside.
The grounds are well maintained and are sometimes frequented by deer in the early mornings. This is a really friendly family run hotel and the celebrity chef Paul does a great job.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank britonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    20
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Although the hotel could do with a bit of maintenance work it is full of character and has a very warm period atmosphere. the. staff were unassuming yet helpful and the food at the function was of a good standard. the room was very spacious and homely and the adjoining bathroom had both a modern shower and an antique bath. The views of nearby fells were fantastic and it was handy for the South Lakes and Morecambe Bay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeltonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Hit upon the hotel whilst visiting Cath's Plants situated in the hotels wall garden, and decided to stay here when we next needed a break. We just felt that the place needed an injection of love and cash. Externally, the building is suffering needing the window frames painted, the gardens were unkept (the lawn mower dumped on the lawn, petrol can left on the hotel steps, no decision made as to where to dump the grass cuttings going by the amount of piles noted, a pile of bread trays left any how to the side of the building). Inside the rooms were a good size but just lacked something - peeling paper and paint, you sat in one lounge looking and listening to the ice cream fridge, furniture was dirty and seen better days. However the staff were friendly and we did eat and enjoy the food - good selection, reasonably priced and plenty of it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzy050813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton Astley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had a family gathering at Heaves and we all agreed the staff did a great job. The hotel is in a country hall surrounded by extensive gardens and deer park with views over towards Morecambe Bay. The bedrooms are all huge with extra beds + settees. Some of the decor is a bit "period" which we found charming. The restaurant, lounge and function rooms are also large and tastefully decorated in an charming old fashioned style.
You can easliy reach Windermere and beyond so Heaves would be a good place to stay for the exploring the Lake District.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I stopped here for 2 nights, 3 days at the same time as raymartin and martinmac. I stayed in a single room which was huge and clean. I went with a group of friends, not to watch the tv or look out the bedroom window. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I found the staff very helpful and polite but presumably all family members rather than professional hotel staff. An evening meal in their dining room with friends was filling and reasonably priced. At breakfast there was a varied choice of cereals, fruit juices tea, coffee and unlimited toast and jams. I was met by the proprietor and allowed to sit where I liked, was asked what I wanted to eat and offered tea or coffee. There wasn’t a waiter hovering at my elbow but I didn’t expect there to be. During the day food was available on request and the bar was open. I paid £45 per night and was very happy with that. I think the staff went out of their way to accommodate such a large group, many of us camping or staying elsewhere. Not posh. Yes it is in need of repair/maintenance but food ok and bed clean. Prices very reasonable, what more do you want when staying in the lakes?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arkwright1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Our high expectations on this hotel which had been recommended to us were dashed as we drove into the carpack. I can only assume the friends that recommended it stayed when it first opened! It was immediately evident that this once fine Georgian mansion in a priviledged location is severe need of maintenance work and new management.
From the word go there were examples of bad housekeeping. Stained once white tablecloths covered tables which must have been left out after a tea or something but were still there when we checked in mid afternoon at the reception. Dirty and animal hair covered sofas and armchairs greeted us in the hall. We glimpsed what could have been a really attractive living room, ruined by peeling wallpaper and a creeping damp patch -not inviting. At reception there was absolute chaos, stacks of paperwork and a random collection of what can only be described as junk were completely visible and the view into the kitchen made us instantly decide against eating in this place.
We got into the room walking over damp stained carpets and found the room tidy in comparison with the rest of the building. The linen and bathroom clean, but the room shabby and there were cobwebs!
The security and safety measures in this "hotel" are dubious, the kettle in our room had last been inspected in 1993 and was ancient and our room key was stored in an unlocked draw in "reception" which is unattended. The window in our room onto the balcony, crumbling masonry was impossible to open and the fire door locked.
I' ve spared some details but all in all it was a very expensive ( £75 a night) and we didn't even have breakfast after having see the state of the kitchen.
It is a real shame that the owners who have a hotel in beautiful grounds and a lovely property can't be bothered to look after the place and provide decent accomodation.
Shame we didn't take photos because you'd have to see it to believe it, the owners must live in dire conditions if they think it's acceptable to charge the paying client £75 a night for more than sub standard accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnonymousOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed for the weekend along with a large group of friends from several car forums. The support from all the staff was excellent and they went well beyond what was expected to help out with issues which were nothing to do with the hotel.

I was very impressed with the hotel and had a great weekend.. I look forward to next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martinmac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,014 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.0 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
672 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaves Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaves Country House Hotel

Property: Heaves Country House Hotel
Address: Kendal LA8 8EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Heaves Country Hotel
Heaves Country House Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing