We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaves Hotel - We love it!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heaves Country House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Heaves Hotel – We love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We came as part of a group of about 20 people who have our ‘Christmas Party’ here every February, we all love this place and come year on year. This is our fourth visit here and I’m glad to say, nothing has changed. It still has the same quaint, quirky, idiosyncratic charm that makes this hotel so different, so special, and a place we all look forward to visiting.

I have reviewed this hotel before and there is little else to add, other than to say that we enjoyed an excellent meal there that evening, and we are all looking forward to visiting again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Captain_Coyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    20
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

If you are looking for a weekend get-together with extended family, old classmates or club members, Heaves Hotel is perfect. Don't be put off by the "Country House" hotel bit; this is a very friendly and relaxed place. Good food, reasonable rates, a bar, drawing room, marvellous walks, easy access from M6, fine setting, even a piano in the lobby if you've taken over the entire place and fancy a singalong. And above all, really friendly and flexible hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OliverWates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Yesterday a group of us had a lovely time at the Heaves Hotel. We assembled around midday and had a leisurely drink before lunch at 1.00pm. Food good (of a down-to-earth sort) and our coeliac friend was very well catered for. The ladies who waited on us were friendly and chatty and offered second helpings of vegetables etc. A lovely experience - what a pity for the owners that there were no other diners!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank G and B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have just spent 3 nights celebrating New Year at The Heaves. For us, it was ideal. We have been to The Heaves many times over the years but this was our first New Year. It was exactly what we wanted - fantastic accommodation, amazing food and wonderful hosts. We didn't want loud music and discos we wanted lovely food and a quiet but enjoyable atmosphere. We were in our room by 10; finding out tonight that the party of people at least 20 years older than us stayed up until 2.30am!!! Before we leave tomorrow, we are confirming our reservation for next year. A fantastic experience I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flollopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have just returned from a week in Horseshoe Cottage, a self- catering cottage in the hotel grounds, converted from the old stables. The cottage is lovely, very clean and comfortable. It has kept all of its old charm and atmosphere but is very modern and exceptionally cosy, even on nights when the rain was falling and the winds howling. It is very well equipped, every last detail has been thought of and all you could need is there. Heaves Hotel is a very quaint old building, high ceilings and beautiful old fireplaces, deep soft sofas and tapestries on the walls. We found it ideal as we had all the privacy and space of the cottage, but we could also go to the hotel, which is a stones throw away, through an old gothic archway. We had a couple of lovely cooked breakfasts there which set us up for a day at one of the lakes, and a delicious evening meal served in a beautiful old room full of interesting old pottery and books. You can also order takeaway fish and chips and a few other dishes from the hotel to take back to the cottage and these were very good. We have very happy memories of our week in Horseshoe Cottage and would definately like to return again, either in the spring/summer for another stay in the cottage when we could see more of the lovely grounds or maybe a few days in the hotel itself. Totally unique charming old place. The family are lovely too, very helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: We would definately recommend Horseshoe Cottage to families and couples. We have two sons of 12 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lizzieRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

just got back from the annual get together . as always had an excellent weekend . as guests at heaves we are welcomed as friends and treated as members of the family the rooms are comfortable and spotless and the food is wonderful thanks to paul. booked again for next year

Room Tip: all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank supermarion2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

called in whilst in area and was not dissappointed, ordered a roast ham sandwich with side dish, this was one of the best sandwiches i have had in the area, service was very good and the surroundings spot on, really enjoyed it, faultless

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fellclimber123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#6 of 15 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaves Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaves Country House Hotel

Property: Heaves Country House Hotel
Address: Kendal LA8 8EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Heaves Country Hotel
Heaves Country House Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing