We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

annH9708V...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning cottage”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Absolutely beautiful cottage. Large and fully equipped with all you need. We had master suite which was lovely and decorated with such taste as is the rest of the house. Motorway noise did prove to be a problem at night but that's because we had windows open, not too bad if closed. Not really suitable for anyone a little unstable on their feet as lots of steps and uneven flooring. Property would benefit from having an internal downstairs toilet. Unfortunately didn't try out jacuzzi but looked lovely.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bfdavies
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overall, lovely”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

All in all we did enjoy our time at Cowperthwaite, it is a very beautiful house.

The beds are comfy and there are fantastic facilities, especially the hot tub, BBQ and smart TVs. The house is in a great location to access the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales.

However, the house is close to the M6 and you can hear very loud traffic at night if windows are open. Furthermore, the house was full of flies, especially in the kitchen in which they were everywhere which was not pleasant at all. There are also a lot of dogs in the surrounding properties. We couldn't leave any doors open without dogs coming in. The dogs scared members of our group and distressed our dog. On one occasion least six dogs aggressively surrounded our dog.

Sadly on our last night there was no hot water and the next morning there was no electricity - however I am sure this is just a one off incident!

That being said, the owner was very attentive, really helpful and we had a great time overall!

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasiders...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good location ,great hot tub”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

we had a great weekend as a family of 6 adults and 4 children in a very comfortable house ,well equipped for everything we needed, the hot tub was great ,owners met us at the house gave us a tour ,and then left us to enjoy are stay.
as other people have said the post code does not take you to the house.so do what we did ring the owners and they gave us perfect directions from junction 37 on the M6

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camper677...
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The property is absolutely gorgeous. We stayed for the weekend and we were so lucky we had lovely weather. We stayed there with our family which included 5 grandchildren and they loved the house, the hot tub and the lovely friendly dogs, The owner (Julie) was really helpful and made us very welcome. The house is spotless, has comfy beds and is just perfect. I would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.