We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Market Place Hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Market Place Hideaway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pam B
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Market Place Hideaway”
Reviewed 28 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Located right in the centre of Kendal, close to all shops, bars and restaurants. Well equipped, comfortable cottage. We used the maps provided and went off exploring the fells and Kendal castle, which once belonged to Katherine Parr's family. We also visited Abbott Hall art gallery and museum, well worth a visit. We managed to find some free parking within walking distance but you can get a 3/7 day pass at the pay parking. Also close enough to explore the rest of the beautiful Lake District.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward W
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb central base for Lakes exploration”
Reviewed 23 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The central location just off Market Place of Kendal was brilliant for the Watson family, when exploring Kendal and the Lakes.
The cottage is compact and is very well presented with a lovely welcome pack of teas, biscuits etc.
All the facilities of Kendal are immediately to hand - the cafes, restaurants, and shops are literally only metres distant.
We have stayed in the cottage a couple of years ago and will return in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roger H
1 review
“Lovely Stay in Kendal”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely hideaway, very convenient for town centre and amenities pubs, cafes, shops etc. Beautifully renovated, comfortable beds, well equipped and some lovely attention to detail (good books for walks, .. )
We found local parking at a pound a day. At beginning and end of our stay we drove into the market place.
The best thing however was Lynn, excellent host and absolutely fantastic when I lost my phone inside the sofa and she posted it to save us a 3 hr return trip up the M6!.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaP1980
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The cottage was perfect, in great condition with lots of little extras to ensure a relaxing stay. Great location too with plenty of shops, cafes and pubs nearby. We would absolutely recommend this cottage, the whole family loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina R
1 review
“Warm and welcoming holiday home”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a lovely family weekend (family of four, two children aged 5 and 7) at this warm and welcoming holiday home. All necessities were provided in the apartment - with a charming attention to detail.

The apartment is located at the heart of the Kendal market square and yet perfectly quiet. Shops, the market, restaurants, and take-outs are all in walking distance and Kendal was a good starting point for discovering the Lake District.

We'd definitely recommend this place for a short weekend break or a longer vacation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan A
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hideaway”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A very comfortable cottage.Central part of Kendal, without any noise.So easy to get to visit places in the "Lake District" with an efficient bus and train service close by.We couldn't fault a thing with our accommodation and wouldn't hesitate booking a further visit here in the future.Thank you Lynn for making our stay very pleasurable. Kindest Regards Allan and Tina.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing