We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil and cosy - plus great breakfast!”

Lapwings Barn Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lapwings Barn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tranquil and cosy - plus great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Booked for just one night when going to a party in Kendal and couldn't get accommodation in town - but wished we'd stayed longer. It's a dinky little place with bedroom and shower room downstairs (with porch with bench seats and room for muddy boots), and bright lounge with balcony upstairs. The lounge has a little table plus fridge and tea/coffee making bits and plates, plus tv, so you could stay here for several nights quite happily and have an evening in with a takeaway if you wanted - I'd quite happily stay here in the colder weather too and get the wood burning stove going. Breakfast is brought to the lounge in the morning, and what a lovely breakfast. Ricardo is a baker and so I'd recommend saving yourself for the delicious bread and toast plus a choice of marmalades! We sat with the balcony door open and could hear nothing but willow warblers singing. Lots of footpaths and tiny lanes to explore around the vicinity. Ricardo was also a great host and like another reviewer said the sort of person who you love to meet in the hospitality industry. If you like small special places with a personal touch, this is is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Ricardo and Gill offer genuine hospitality set to a back drop of comfortable furnishings and peaceful surroundings. Most impressive is their commitment to fine food - the most delicious bacon, breads and jams! The wood burning stove is a treat too. I recommend Lapwings very highly.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrhigg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

Where to begin. Firstly the hospitality. Rick is everything you would want from a host; interesting, laid back, friendly and can't do enough for you. He is absolutely the sort of person who should be in the hospitality industry. Meeting the rest of the family just reinforced this impression as they were all warm and very helpful. The accommodation is fantastic. We stayed in both Lapwings barn, with it's own upstairs sitting room, and Curlew Quarters and both were lovely. Super large beds with lovely bedding, tv, nice seating area (log burner in Lapwings) and smart, newly fitted en suite bathrooms. You order your breakfast and Rick brings it to your room at your requested time. The breakfast selection is fantastic - Full English (with bacon and sausage from Rick's pigs), Continental with an amazing selection of cheese and ham or American with a stack of pancakes or any variation there of with toast, jams, cereal, coffe and tea. However, we read in the visitor book that some guests had requested a vegetarian Mexican breakfast, which Rick was happy to prepare for us. We were not disappointed. Spicy Mexican heuvos rancheros... just the ticket on a hangover. The location is just fabulous as well. Tucked away just north of Kendal and firmly off the usual Lake District tourist trail but still within striking distance of all the countryside and sites you may want to visit. There are fabulous views of the surrounding farmland and hills and it was a real treat to be able to set out from our room on a fantastic walk up Whinfell. We really cannot recommend it highly enough. All this at a great price and with homemade cake left in your room every day! What's not to love.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

A very warm and genuine welcome from Rick, very comfortable room with woodburning stove and sitting area, with bedroom below. very nice bathroom. Best of all Rick conjured up a classic mexican breakfast for me as I need gluten free diet and what a treat that was. After 2 weeks touring the country celebrating a big birthday this is the place we keep talking about - it may have been the smallest venue we stayed in, but for the welcome, the peace and quiet and the breakfast it was the best.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmsNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in the ground floor quarters with a little gravel patio area outside the door. It is very quiet and in the middle of great countryside.

The room was very comfortable and it had a very nice bathroom. You order the breakfast the night before and it is delivered to your room at the time you specify. We chose homemade breads with a great selection of homemade marmalades - try the lemon and lime or grapefruit and star anise, full English with their own bacon, homemade sausages, eggs from their hens and organic mushroom and tomato - Delicious! Not forgetting tea or coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice and proper farm milk. Great start to the day served in your room on a small table.

Homemade cake was left every day for us to sample and it was very nice and very welcome.

There is nothing immediately around apart from the scenery but that is part of its charm - quiet and very good value.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireBoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

We were made so welcome and the barn is really cosy and warm. Having our children with us we took both rooms and with the lounge above Lapwings we were able to relax with the chairs on the balcony during the day, given that we had good weather. After a satisfying walk up Whinfell, and a great Pizza at the Brewery Arts Centre, we lounged back at Lapwings and really relaxed, the heat from the woodburner is quite something, I haven't experienced one of these before. You do feel the countryside around you in this place, we heard the resident barn owl, but I think this is the wrong time of year for the lapwings. The standard of cleanliness here is something other B&Bs could learn from. I would recommend this place without reservation, we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aries61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

Having arrived late on a Friday night, we were met by our friendly host Rick who ushered us into our accommodation for the weekend - Curlew Quarters, part of a converted stone barn. The room was very cosy, clean and warm with windows offering an undisturbed view of the fields and fells of Cumbria. We loved the thoughtful touches provided such as home-made cake on arrival, hot water bottles in the cupboards and softly-scented toiletries in the ensuite bathroom. Best of all though were the breakfasts, delivered directly to your room by Rick - home-cured bacon, sausages and freshly-baked breads, accompanied by glass bottles of farm fresh milk. I almost caved in and became a carnivore for the weekend, after my boyfriend pronounced it the best bacon he'd ever tasted! Instead, I opted for a huge bowl of fresh fruit salad and hot, home-made pancakes, with amber -hued maple syrup.
Situated about 5 miles from Kendal, Curlew Quarters is a perfect base from which to explore the Lake District. The owners are friendly, without being obtrusive, the beds are very comfortable and it's a great wee rural retreat if, like us, you need an escape from city life. Just one word of warning - the sign for the accommodation is tiny so, if arriving at night, it's probably best to phone for directions, if you don't have a sat nav.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisyfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
4.3 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.0 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Millers Beck
Millers Beck
#7 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.9 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Ash Meadows Guest House
Ash Meadows Guest House
#6 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapwings Barn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapwings Barn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lapwings Barn Bed & Breakfast
Address: Howestone Barn | Whinfell, Kendal LA8 9EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Lapwings Barn Bed & Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing